Happy Little Stampers CAS Challenge – Guest Designer – March, Darnell’s NBUS #6, SSS Monday – 29 February, SSS Wednesday – 2 March, SSS Work It Wednesday – February

Hello …. bonjour!  I’m honoured and delighted to be guest designing with the awesome CAS team at Happy Little Stampers for the March challenge.  The theme this month is Faux Mother of Pearl … a lovely, soft technique that I’d never explored … now that I have, I can understand how much depth and shimmer it creates!  Here’s my take on it …

HLS CAS GD - MarchGuest Designer Badge - HLS         HLS CAS - March

Thanks to Loll (her video is fabulous!) and Toni (for Loll’s link and another), I had a heap of fun creating the panel above … and it’s so easy!  I used a squidge of Liquid Pearls, scrunched up a piece of cling film, dibbled it into the PP and pounced to my heart’s content onto a white card panel.  Once the panel was dry, I sponged over a bunch of green and blue hued Distress Inks … the pounced Liquid Pearls resisted the DI, so all that was needed to finish off the panel was a gentle polish with a paper towel.  I trimmed the panel to fit my card front, adhered the SSS floral stem die cut to it (NBUS … from my lovely friend, Michele) and mounted the whole thing up on fun foam onto the base.   The SSS sentiment was stamped in Memento Paris Dusk and covered with Wink of Stella … and was surrounded by  a scattering of die cut hearts (from the panel offcuts), which had been coated with Wink of Stella and Glossy Accents before being adhered to the card base.  Like to see a detail shot of that faux mother of pearl shimmer …

HLS CAS GD Detail - MarchSo … have you tried the Faux Mother of Pearl Technique?  It’s fun … why not give it a go … we’d love to see your CAS creation in the gallery!  All the details are over on the Happy Little Stampers – CAS blog … along with a heap of inspiration from the Design Team!  Do hope you’ll play along!

I’m joining in with …

Darnell’s NBUS – Anything Goes … yep, she’s back for #6!  The sweet flower stems are my NBUS

SSS Monday – Leap Into The Unknown … the faux mother of pearl technique was unknown

SSS Wednesday – Touchy Feely … bobbly mother of pearl, die cut, popped up panel, GA’d hearts

SSS Work It Wednesday – Florals

Thanks so much for coming by … your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          Simon Monday Challenge Blog          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

workitwedbanner

48 thoughts on “Happy Little Stampers CAS Challenge – Guest Designer – March, Darnell’s NBUS #6, SSS Monday – 29 February, SSS Wednesday – 2 March, SSS Work It Wednesday – February

  1. Claire A

    What a brilliant technique Anita – must try it! I really thought you’d used some kind of shiny texture paste. Those beautiful blues make me feel cool in this unseasonably hot weather we’re having!

    Reply
  2. Linda W

    Your faux MOP panel is just gorgeous …. the colours are fabulous and I love those die cuts. Nice to have you as our Guest Designer this month. xx

    Reply
  3. Cathy R

    Gorgeous cad Anita, love these colours and I wouldn’t have thought to use perfect pearls! I have lots of colours so that’s given me some ideas! Great technique, Cathy x

    Reply
  4. susannev2014

    Bonjour, mon amie! Beautiful card! I have been wanting to try this technique! The shimmer on your panel is absolutely amazing! The sponged colors are beautiful and make those sweet delicate flower stems pop!

    Reply
  5. Michele F

    Oh Look!!! You must have kept those delicate little blooms very well protected … I’m quite surprised it traveled so well! How beautiful it looks against that gorgeous pearliest background … I haven’t the supplies to recreate it … yet!! LOve the blue and green – gorgeous card! xx
    =]

    Reply
  6. Rosemary D

    really lovely card, anita!! haven’t heard of that technique but you have used it to perfection!!

    Reply
  7. lollthompson

    Great job with the Mother of Pearl Anita. Your panel is sparkly and shiny and gorgeous! Thanks for the shout out. 🙂 xx

    Reply
  8. Macarena

    Very nice and delicate card. I love the background behind the flowers! Thank you for playing along with Simon Monday Challenge!

    Reply
  9. BożenA

    Your use of the technique pearl is unique. You managed to create a very delicate pearl openwork veil of. I am very impressed . Beautiful card.
    Hugs,
    BożenA

    Reply
  10. Gerrina

    This technique looks great on your card! Love the blue-green colours you used!
    And congrats on being GDT at HLA!
    Have to try this again; has been a few years… Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply
  11. Bobby

    I bought my pearl paint today so I will be trying this technique. I love the white flowers against the blue pearly background on your card, Anita.

    Reply
  12. Petra

    WOW, wow, wow, Anita, your mother-of-pearl panel looks AMAZING!!!! And the sweet little flowers against you stunning bg looks fabulous!!!! Oh, my this is such a wonderful card – the colours you have worked with is sooooooo beautiful!!!! Love the sentiment with the cute little hearts and all the lovely shine you added!!! This is just one absolutely stunning card, my friend!!!! You can tell I LOOOOOOOVE it, hey!!!
    Hugz

    Reply
  13. BarbGhig

    Oh my… your mother-of-pearl panel is stunning, Anita! The colors are amazing, and I love all the shimmer and shine! You did such a great job on this technique, and the floral stems die cut is the perfect way to showcase it…LOVE this card so much!

    Reply
  14. Joyce M.

    Beautifully designed and executed card, Anita. I am not familiar with that technique, but you have inspired me to go check it out. Your white die cuts look so striking against your colored panel.

    Reply
  15. kathinwesthill

    such a beautiful card…you rocked that technique and the flower stem sets it off perfectly…thanks for joining in the fun at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge…hugs kath xxx

    Reply
  16. djkardkreations

    Congratulations on the Guest Design gig, Anita! You did an impressive job with the task at hand! Your card is a shiny masterpiece! I want to try that fun technique, even if I don’t do it in time for the challenge – it looks such fun!! Missing you muchly!! Mwah and hugs, Darnell xxoo

    Reply
  17. Barbara Roe

    Hi I’m coming to you from NBUS #6. Another gorgeous card Anita and the shiny blue pops off the page. Honestly the technique seems complicated and I have not used Liquid Pearls. Have a lovely week. 🙂 B

    Reply
  18. Greta H

    I’ve never heard of that technique, but you’re making me want to try it, Anita! Love the look you achieved & it’s a wonderful background for the lovely flowers!

    Reply
  19. Christine Smith

    Congratulations on being Guest Designer! Love the Mother of Pearl technique, it looks so cool! I will have to try it. Your card is beautiful! Love the die cut and those cute little hearts! xxx

    Reply
  20. Dana

    Beautiful card Anita! I think I may need to check out the tutorial on the faux mother of pearl, your take on the technique is gorgeous!

    Reply
  21. Brenda L.

    Your card is just beautiful Anita! I am so loving that pearl finish, one of these days I’m going to give this technique a try! A simple card that packs a big punch, love it! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  22. Kylie

    Anita this is a brilliant example of Faux Mother of Pearl. Wow, I love it! Thanks for being our Guest Designer at Happy Little Stampers this month xx

    Reply
  23. JoAnn B.

    Gorgeous card Anita. I love your pretty panel and the white die cut really makes it shine. I will have to give this technique a try.

    Reply
  24. cmayne

    You’ve aced the faux mother-of-pearl technique, Anita…this panel is stunning! Perfect backdrop for your pretty white silhouette flowers. I may have to give this a try; no excuse not to as I do have Perfect Pearls powder and cling wrap. Fingers crossed…
    Hugs~c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

