The Challenge #64 – Featured Designer, Seize The Birthday – 10 March, SSS Wednesday – 9 March

Hello … bonjour!  I’m excited to be back for my second week as Featured Designer at The Challenge … this time round we have a colour theme … just take a look at those gorgeous hues a little further down!  This is where my imagination took me …

The Challenge GD 2and here are the colours …

The Challenge #64 - March Week 2 - ColoursNot hard to see how I was inspired … hmmm?  That fun window blind and and bright green chest of drawers really caught my eye … and prompted me to pull out just the perfect Crafters Workshop stencil.  I sponged Distress Inks (Blueprint Sketch, Twisted Citron, Mermaid Lagoon, Hickory Smoke) direct to the card base, blending the colours and fading them out to nothing on the angle.  The Papertrey sentiment was cut in green card and blue craft foam, stacked and adhered direct to the card front.  Love how the slant of the script mimics the angle of the faded out stencilling!  I stamped the secondary sentiment nestled in under the die cut and added some enamel accents to finish.

Where is your paper crafting imagination going with these colours?  Where ever it’s is, we’d love for you to link up what you create and join us in the gallery!  All the details are over at The Challenge … along with heaps of inspiration from the amazing Design Team.  Do hope you’ll have chance to play along with us!

I’m joining in with …

Seize The Birthday – No Toppings

SSS Wednesday – A Bit of Green

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

null          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

41 thoughts on “The Challenge #64 – Featured Designer, Seize The Birthday – 10 March, SSS Wednesday – 9 March

  1. Susi

    Your card is a fabulous CASE of that window covering, Anita! A wonderful card design that would suit a male recipient, but also gorgeous to give to a lucky gal too!

    Reply
  2. Michele F

    Anita The Challenge colors are some of my favorites – LOve what you’ve done with them, darling girl! That stencil was indeed the perfect choice for the darling blind and I LOve that you’ve put your gorgeous green birthday die-cut under the stenciling – just as the dresser [want that] is under the blind – clever, clever, clever! xx
    =]

    Reply
  3. kimheggins

    Anita….you totally rocked these colors! Your card is simply amazing. I love your retro design, so fun. And your layered die cut birthday, FABULOUS!!!! Have a fun day.

    Reply
  4. Brenda L.

    Wow! I love this card Anita! The colors, the inspiration, omgosh-your card is just stunning! I think The Challenge just needs to keep you on full time. What a great way to mimick that window shade and that birthday sentiment so pops in the bright green and the navy blue foam just frames out the green so well. I’m so in love with this beautiful card my friend. Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  5. born57

    Hello,Anita! What a great design and I love your take on the photo! The blended colors on your design look amazing,Anita!

    Reply
  6. jmhave44

    Gorgeous abstract design, and so eye-catching in the blues & greens. Love where you’ve done the blending in the openings too. Once again, a really fabulous card using that inspiration photo to choose some wonderfully bright & happy colors. TFS & Hugs

    Reply
  7. conil

    You nailed the geometric roman shade on the window. Your card looks exactly like it. Love these colors together…fresh & clean with a bit of a masculine twist.

    Reply
  8. Judith

    That’s just beautiful…my favourite colours, and I do believe I have a stencil just like that one too x

    Reply
  9. catcraig

    Anita, your card is super, I love the design and I can really see where your inspiration came from. Green and blue/navy have always been a favorite combination of mine and you showcased them beautifully.

    Reply
  10. quilterlin

    Blues and greens are some of my favorite colors, Anita – love your card using them! Thanks so much for playing along with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Reply
  11. TK

    Oh My! This is gorgeous, Anita!!! I love the colors, the angled stenciling, the green die on blue foam…. What’s not to love! Oddly enough, my youngest made a sundress last summer with bought fabric in almost the exact colors/stenciled shaping that you used! It’s gorgeous too…

    Reply
  12. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    Gorgeous – as usual! So perfect for a masculine birthday card! I love that stencil – Have it in my stash as well…

    Reply
  13. Sharyn Polesel

    This is so much fun! Love your beautiful design and gorgeous colors. Thanks for playing along with us at Seize the Birthday!

    Reply
  14. susannev2014

    Oh, Anita, your take on that inspiration photo will be hard to beat as it is absolutely perfect! That stencil, those colors, the layout, and that layered die cut – just outstanding! I am totally blown away!

    Reply
  15. Rose J

    This is a lovely take on the inspiration Anita. Love your blending of the blues, greens & teals. The die cut sentiment is perfect. I’ve been eyeing off that birthday die for a while & I think your card may have finally convinced me I must have!

    Reply
  16. Pam

    Wow! You rocked this one! That stencil is perfect and your inking superb. Love the sentiment treatment, as well.

    Reply
  17. Bobby

    Ooooooh, that was my response in seeing your card, Anita. That stencil was a fabulous choice and your inking of it replicates the blind so well. It amazes me when card makers have just the perfect thing to use for a challenge. Me – not so much.

    Reply
  18. Petra

    WOW, wonderful sponging with such a great stencil, Anita!!!! Love how you have done the sponging with the different colours and having it only in the upper corner!!!! The sentiment really looks stunning and the three little pearls complete the picture wonderfully!!!! This is so beautiful!!!! Love it!!!!
    Hugz

    Reply
  19. BarbGhig

    You did an amazing job with this color palette, and I love how you placed the graphic stenciling, Anita! Loving your die cut sentiment, too!

    Reply
  20. Barbara Roe

    Saw the card on Seize…… Guess I did not comment before. The stencilling is what caught my eye. I love to stencil and you did a fantastic job. The colors are divine.

    Reply
  21. hobbitnoll

    Oh WOW!! This is fabulous!! LOVE the graphic style and the blended colors you used. Beautiful design!!

    Reply
  22. cmayne

    Swooning over your gorgeous stenciling, Anita…the colour combination is spot-on fantastic! A striking canvas for your marvelous sentiment. Looks like another stencil I’ll *need* to add to my collection…
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  23. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    I thought I left a comment here….I guess not… Great card! I love this stencil and you made it shine!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

