Time Out DT #53, Addicted to Stamps & More #187, SSS Wednesday – 30 March

Hello … bonjour!   We have a fabulous new challenge for you at Time Out today … this time we’re ‘Inspired by Words’ with this fun quote from Eleanor Roosevelt … ‘A woman is like a tea bag … you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water’.  Here’s my take …

Time Out DT 53RTime OutI drew some ‘unstructured’ lines down a panel of watercolour card with four colours of Zig Brush Markers.  So that the lines wouldn’t get washed out, I added water to alternate stripes, pulled the colour in from each side, left the panel to dry … and then went back and did the same with the remaining stripes.  The sentiment is from Concord & 9th, white heat embossed over the watercolouring … and I added a scattering of clear sprinkles … just because they put me in mind of droplets on a watery background!  The panel was trimmed to size and popped up on craft foam onto the card base.

How does this quote inspire you?  I was taken with the overall sense of the phrase … but you can focus on any or all the words for your card … or on something that it brings to mind.  This particular challenge is running for one week only … Mr Linky’s doors will close next Wednesday, 6 April at 5.00pm BST … normal fortnightly service will be resumed from then on!    All the details are over at the Time Out blog, along with heaps of yummy inspiration from our amazing DT and from our wonderfully talented Guest Designer, Elaine from Craft-E-Place.  Do hope you’ll get chance to play along!

I’m delighted to say a warm hello to some new followers today … Marianne from Marianne’s Cards n Stuff, Sarah from Sazzle Dazzle Crafts and Carole from Craftilicious Creations … you’re all very welcome, ladies … thank you so much!  There is so much talent wrapped up in these three creative crafters … just have a wander round their blogs and you’ll see what I mean!

I’m playing along with …

Addicted to Stamps & More – Make Your Mark … with my Zig Clean Color Brush Markers

SSS Wednesday – Anything Goes

Back to some more catching up with you all … see you in blogland!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog         

50 thoughts on “Time Out DT #53, Addicted to Stamps & More #187, SSS Wednesday – 30 March

  1. Susi

    That watercolour technique looks fabulous, Anita! What a wonderful result. Your choice of sentiment is perfect too as it would take a large font/sentiment to draw one’s eyes away from that gorgeous BG! Love that you placed your panel on a linen based cardstock – great texture!

    Reply
  2. Brenda L.

    Wow, wow, wow! This is one beautiful card Anita! I love how you did the background, looks like water. Speaking of water, that inspiration sentiment always cracked me up and made me think as well. I love the sentiment you chose because I really do think being courageous is classy!! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  3. born57

    I LOVE your hot water ,Anita ! Oh my goodness what a great idea and the water looks amazing! Hope your Easter was wonderful!

    Reply
  4. Joyce M.

    Stunning, Anita. Your background is fantastic. I am going to try this technique. Also, love the sentiment and how you embossed it front and center.

    Reply
  5. TaeEun

    You created a gorgeous background, Anita! What a fun technique with Zig pens! I should try this! Thank you for sharing! The white heat embossed sentiment and clear sprinkles look great on that bg!

    Reply
  6. conil

    Of course I love the sentiment…I even own it. But the way you’ve used the Zigs to produce that color is freaking awesome. That touch of bling just makes this whole card perfection. Good going, girl.

    Reply
  7. BarbGhig

    Fabulous watercoloring, Anita! I love your unique design, and your sentiment is so inspiring! How wonderful that Eleanor Roosevelt’s quote was chosen for this challenge, too…Love it!

    Reply
  8. Geri G

    This is AMAZING and soooooooo cool! You are totally channelling some amazing and famous abstract painter person here! The water droplets are beyond clever and work to enhance the ‘wave’ feeling of your gorgeous card! LOVE the sentiment!

    PS…thinking that you need to super-size this card to a wall size picture!

    Reply
  9. quilterlin

    What a fabulous technique, Anita – I thought at first you’d torn your cardstock, but this gives you so much more control over the design! Love the inspirational quote, too – isn’t it the truth? Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Reply
  10. susannev2014

    This background looks stunning! What an amazing effect this technique has! I will have to give this a try!

    Reply
  11. Gerrina

    I first thought that you used alcoholink on a smooth surface,; didn’t know you could do this with markers! Love the waves you made! Enjoy the weekend!

    Reply
  12. TK

    This is SOOO beautiful, Anita! I love the stripes, and thought maybe what I was seeing was alcohol inks moving! Very nice!

    Reply
  13. djkardkreations

    This has such a wonderful relaxing feel to it, Anita! I love the colors and movement! I’ve done a similar card with this technique and I can you, it’s much harder than it looks to have it look this organic!! Well done!! Miss you madly! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  14. jmhave44

    Not only very pretty, but such a unique idea to use the w/c markers as you did, to make a background for this wonderful quote. YOu have the _best ideas_ on your cards, always CAS and classy and colorful at the same time. I LOVE this one! TFS & Have a great week. (Oh yes, I just read Darnell’s comment about it being harder than it looks on this technique. I can easily believe that is true! LOL)

    Reply
  15. hobbitnoll

    Oh my!! I am pinning this card as I ADORE it. That technique you used for the Zig markers looks fantastic. I need to try it!! STUNNING design. (and I LOVE that sentiment too!!)

    Reply
  16. Barbara Roe

    Stunning card Anita and it looks like waves. I reread how you created the card and once again was amazed at your creativity. It looks like many of us used the word “stunning.” Barb

    Reply
  17. maria f.

    What a fabulous result you achieved with this technique. Gotta give this a try. And I love how you approached the quote, combining water with the strong woman theme. Have a great week. I think Spring has finally arrived here! Your place too?

    Reply
  18. Jill Vickers

    Wow Anita! That background is absolutely gorgeous – when I first saw it, I thought you used alcohol inks – your watercolouring is just stunning! Jill

    Reply
  19. Tracey McNeely

    How did I miss this gorgeous card Anita! You technique using the Zig’s is so cool, I love how you pulled in the colours, time consuming but the results are fantastic! Have a wonderful day!

    Reply
  20. Petra

    WOW, Anita, what brilliant way to create a fabulous bg with your Zig’s – it looks STUNNING!!!! Great choice of sentiment and it’s beautiful embossed in white on your colourful panel!!!! Love the little bits of sparkle!!! Such a beautiful card, my friend!!!!
    Hugz

    Reply
  21. baileyrosy

    BEAUTIFUL ! Anita I don’t pin often but this one is a real doozy love love love this masterpiece. The technique sound complicated and time consuming but the result is stunning.

    Marie

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

