MFT Card Design Superstar Contest 2016, SSS Monday – 19 September

Hello … bonjour!  Bet that surprised you … two posts in two days!  I’m back with another card tonight which is in complete contrast to yesterday’s cool, dapper, monochrome chap … this one’s full of colour …

mft-card-making-superstar-contest-sssm-19-9I white embossed an MFT leaf sprig from Fall Florals repeatedly across a watercolour card panel, and washed distress inks across each sprig, allowing the rainbow colours to merge and blend.  Once the panel was dry, I clear heat embossed the second leaf layer over the first, brushed clean water over the panel and blotted some of the background colour off with a paper towel.  The embossed area resisted the water and retained the original intensity of the wash in the halo’s of colour around the sprigs.   The sentiment is made up from a couple of different ones in the Birds of Paradise set (I’m MFT sentiment challenged!) … white embossed on a snippet of black card and popped up on the rainbow panel with foam tape.  I sponged a black frame onto the card base, adhered the finished panel onto it with craft foam, did a little dotty doodling … and voila, I was done!

I’m playing along at …

MFT Card Design Superstar Contest – 2016

SSS Monday – Inspired By Music … how about Somewhere Over The Rainbow!

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          Simon Monday Challenge Blog

Save

Save

Save

Save

26 thoughts on “MFT Card Design Superstar Contest 2016, SSS Monday – 19 September

  1. Michele F

    Isn’t this the most beautiful rainbow?! OH how I’ve missed your creations!! I adore how you’ve heat resist-embossed that bloom, Anita – it is my favorite one of that MFT set! Best of luck! xx
    =]

    Reply
  2. Jeanne

    Gorgeous! What a neat idea to heat emboss after you added some color. It looks amazing. Lovely, lovely card! Makes me smile. 🙂 Hugs!

    Reply
  3. Jen W.

    This is gorgeous, Anita! I love how you clear embossed and then washed down the colour. Such a brilliant idea and a beautiful effect. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Geri G

    This card is gorgeous ! Flawless blending from one color to the next and a clever-as-ever technique of heat embossing to resist the water wash and to maintain the intensity of the colors! Yep, the MFT judges are gonna love this one too!

    Reply
  5. conil

    Oh what a lovely surprise. Rainbows are always welscome here. This is so pretty. Love the shadow you’ve created around your sprigs. It’s so unique and clever. If you don’t win this, I’ll want to know why because you are a SuperStar.

    Reply
  6. susannev2014

    You are already a super star in my eyes ’cause you always come up with the most creative ideas! Like this technique – I would have never thought of that! Looks fantastic, my friend!

    Reply
  7. Rose J

    Love the beautifully blended rainbow background Anita. I do love even more the double embossing technique & how effective it looks after some of the colour is removed. Very clever!

    Reply
  8. Izzy Scrap

    J’adore ! Quel beau dégradé de couleurs ! On rentre dans une partie de l’année que je n’aime pas, les jours diminuent, les couleurs dans les boutiques sont celles de l’hiver (noir, gris, marron), du moins ici en France. Pourquoi devons-nous nous limiter à ces couleurs en hiver ? Alors je dis : “Vive la couleur !”. Super l’idée de refaire une 2nde couche d’embossage, le résultat est sublime ! Thanks for sharing Anita.

    Reply
  9. BarbGhig

    Gorgeous rainbow watercolor wash, Anita! I love how you double heat embossed and created shadows around the sprigs…this card is a real WOW!!! Another perfect entry for the ‘Superstar’ contest…Love it 🙂

    Reply
  10. Claire A

    Yes you are the ‘Anita’ I was talking about in my post and I forgot to do the link. Sorry! Love the soft wash on the background here…perfect for that MFT stamp!

    Reply
  11. Shona Chambers

    Catching up on some emails and wanted to make sure I told you how much I love this card! Its so simple and pretty and love the soft rainbow effect. Such a shame neither of us became a Superstar, how fab would it have been to spend $250??!!!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

