Time Out DT #66 Mid Challenge Reminder, Happy Little Stampers CAS – September, SSS Work It Wednesday – August, The Paper Players #313, Uniko #36

Hello … bonjour!  We’re about half way through our delicious Home Sweet Home challenge at Time Out, where we have the most amazing photo to inspire you (below) … here’s my second take on it …

time-out-dt-66rTime Outand here’s that cool photo …

I masked off the lower part of a panel of watercolour card stock, and repeatedly inked up, spritzed and randomly stamped a leaf from the new Trendy Leaves 2 set (from STAMPlorations (courtesy of teamie and generous owner of STAMPlorations, Shery … thanks so much, Shery!).  This was a new to me technique and immediately after spritzing and stamping, all I saw was a sorry mess!  However, I was really surprised at how clear the detail on the leaves became as the water moved the colour around and the ink dried … so I adhered the panel to a card base that had had the edges sponged black, ruled in a line to define the stamped/unstamped area, and added a STAMPlorations sentiment (that had gone through surgery) .   Voila!

Where does your imagination take you when looking at our photo?  There are so many different elements to use!  However you’re inspired, why not make a card and link it up to our gallery … we’d love to see you there!  We’re sponsored this time round by STAMPlorations … the winner (as chosen by the DT) will receive a $10 GC, plus there will be two random draws … one for the Holiday Expressions: Thankful stamp set and one for the Trendy Leaves 2 set.  All the details are over at the Time Out blog … along with heaps of inspiration from our amazing DT and from our delightful and super talented returning Guest Designer, Claire from Life On The Scrapheap (who you really need to visit if you haven’t already … so much loveliness!).

I’m playing along with …

Happy Little Stampers CAS – Watercolour Spritz

SSS Work it Wednesday – Use Stamps

The Paper Players – CAS Taste of Fall

Uniko – Autumn (Optional Twist of Thanks)

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          workitwedbanner

        

Save

Save

34 thoughts on “Time Out DT #66 Mid Challenge Reminder, Happy Little Stampers CAS – September, SSS Work It Wednesday – August, The Paper Players #313, Uniko #36

  1. Jeanne

    Look at those pretty leaves! I’m so glad you didn’t give up on the technique you tried. The leaves came out great. Such great fall colors. I really like the mat of black. It sure helps the colors pop and ties in so well with that pretty sentiment (I like the font a lot). Beautiful card! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Geri G

    …sorry if this is a duplicate…no idea where my comment went ????
    GORGEOUS colors! Totally admiring your perfect ‘random placement’ of the leave – at first glance, I thought you used some DP! Love how the bit of black showcases the beautiful leaves!

    Reply
  3. conil

    Can’t believe you’d never used this technique before…looks, to me, as though you’d beed doing it for ages. You seem to know exactly the amount of water to mist. I always end up drowning the paper…which, ultimately, turns into a soggy lump. But yours is perfect. Glad to see you’ve fit some craft time into your hectic schedule. It’s so satisfying. For some reason, I’ve been left alone enough to be able to get some done. Stay well, dear friend. Happy Autumn!

    Reply
  4. lollthompson

    So pretty!! Love the fall colours and thanks for mentioning about letting the panel dry. Lots of times I spray, regret it and toss it out. I bet there are some pretty designs in my garbage can. 🙂 xx

    Reply
  5. Rosemary D

    another beautiful clean and simple take on the inspiration photo, anita!! you have captured the essence of the photo perfectly!!

    Reply
  6. Anita

    These leaves look great with this technique, I really must try it. I’m a clean lines girl so anything a bit arty scares me! lol Love the colours you used too, and the crisp black edging.
    Thanks so much for playing along at Happy Little Stampers CAS Challenge, Anita x

    Reply
  7. Izzy Scrap

    Gorgeous card Anita, moreover with this technique ! I’ve tried it several times but I’ve never been satisfied with the result ! I think I spritz too much water, I don’t know but it never gives this beautiful result ! I’ve been working on a card for the TO challenge, I’ve just have to write the post !

    Reply
  8. BarbGhig

    I’m so impressed with how you stamped these beautiful leaves, Anita! When I spritz my stamps, I end up with a total mess…your color combo and placement looks like high end DP! Love this pretty card!

    Reply
  9. Claire A

    Do you know I don’t think I’ve ever tried that watercolour technique – watercolour always scares me as it’s so random! Your colourful panel looks so soft and pretty!

    Reply
  10. Jill Vickers

    Really pretty card Anita – I love the watercoloured look of the leaves – your stamping and spritzing turned out beautifully!

    Reply
  11. chrissieann

    Beautiful stamping Anita and great tip too!
    Love those autumnal shades!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    Happy Little Stampers CAS Team

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

