Time Out DT #85, CAS on Sunday #109, Just Us Girls #396, SSS Monday – 5 June, SSS Wednesday – 7 June, Uniko #41

Hello … bonjour!  Our wonderful new challenge starts at Time Out this morning … this fortnight, we have a relaxing, easy like Sunday morning Home Sweet Home photo to inspire you (below).  I had a bit of fun with it …

Here’s the inspiration picture …

Laura Ashley Blog | SPRING / SUMMER 2015 INTERIOR TRENDS | http://blog.lauraashley.com:
I was taken by the colours of those squashy cushions and by the hummingbird on one of them … and given the all those palm leaves and gorgeous shutters, this scene struck me as deliciously tropical.  I have no hummingbird images though do have MFT’s Birds of Paradise and some of those guys were happy to be the understudies on my card.  The design is a total CASE of the uber talented Therese’s owl card (here at Lost in Paper) … I loved the line art stamping and and retro colour palette, so played with some of my own!  Thanks for your unending inspiration, Therese!  My birds have Glossy Accented eyes, the bubbles of colour over them are SSS (Lots of Dots) and the sentiment is WPlus9 (white embossed) and SSS (die cut and Glossy Accented).
The birds of paradise were having such fun that they didn’t want to go back into their storage pocket and pleaded for more time to play with ink.  I indulged them … and they came up with a masculine version …
On this one, I randomly overstamped the main bubbles of colour with smaller ones in the same colour ink and covered them with Glossy Accents.  The embossed sentiment panel is from WPlus9 and the die cut is Papertrey, both popped up on craft foam.
What will inspire you in our picture … the colours, that wicker hammock, the different patterns on the cushions, the palms … or something else?  Whatever you come up with, we’d love to see you in our gallery.  This fortnight we’re sponsored by Happy Little Stampers who are offering our winner, as voted for by the DT, a $15 GC … and as usual, our winner will also be invited to guest design with us in a future challenge.  All the details are over at the Time Out blog … along with a whole host of delicious ideas from our wonderful DT and from our talented Guest Designer Ashwini from Experiments With Cardmaking etc.  Ashwini always makes fantastic use of colour on her gorgeous cards … do check out her blog if you haven’t been, there’s so much yumminess to take in!
With the first card, I’m playing along at …
CAS on Sunday – Use a Repetition Image (hope it’s CAS enough!)
Just Us Girls – Die Cuts
and with the second, I’m joining in over at …
SSS Monday – Masculine
SSS Wednesday – Make It Masculine
Uniko – Masculine
Hope your week is going wonderfully … and that you’ve had some space to craft!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂
PS … I apologise for the formatting here … WordPress has decided to go it’s own way for now, and has obstinately resisted all attempts by me to add paragraphs or even line spacing.  If it can be fixed, it will be!  A 🙂
For your blog          
                   

Save

45 thoughts on “Time Out DT #85, CAS on Sunday #109, Just Us Girls #396, SSS Monday – 5 June, SSS Wednesday – 7 June, Uniko #41

  1. Sandie

    these little chappies are having fun. Love the random design and those glossy eyes. Like the placement of the sentiment and how the die is layered with black. Yet again another delight for our players x

    Reply
  2. lostinpaper

    You are so sweet and these cards are both wonderful, such great choices of colour Anita! I do need to tell you that I did have a little smile moment when I read your post as my maiden name was pronounced ‘owl’ (though not spelled the same).. funny that. Big hugs my friend x

    Reply
  3. cmayne

    That photo certainly does transport me to a tropical paradise; at least in my mind’s eye! A plethora of inspiration, indeed! Your Birds of Paradise cards(such a treat to see two versions) are amazing; a combination of whimsical And classy! Clever ‘colouring’ – just my style *grin* Love these! (and snickering over Michele’s comment!)
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  4. Judy Woodland

    Such adorable cards – I LOVE all those adorable birds! Great take on the challenge with your die cut greetings! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week over at Just Us Girls!

    Reply
  5. Nonni

    Both of your cards are so stunning, Anita! I love this design idea -might be stealing it! 🙂 Great use of the bird stamps, they work so well uncolored and paired with the large dots. Absolutely fabulous work!

    Reply
  6. kimheggins

    Wow…two simply fabulous and creative cards Miss Anita! I love the incredible look you created with those festive birds and your spots of colors…just love this look!

    Reply
  7. Conil

    There’s so much to choose from in the inspiration photo but you picked the best of it, in my mind…the bird and those lovely colors, TWICE. Quite the bonus candy for my eyes. And so meticulously executed that they’re both perfect. The scripty, bold sentiment look awesome on your masculine version. Being a girl (kind of) I was more taken with the first. Adore those colors together and the over stamping of the toucan. Just awesome.

    Reply
  8. BarbGhig

    Really fun design and fabulous take on the inspiration photo, Anita! I love how you also created a masculine version of this card with all those awesome colors! Great job combining challenges, too!

    Reply
  9. ggreener@mymts.net

    Hey there pal! Yep, I’ve been busy playing in the yard…blog visits have been few and far between. Actually….zippo!   I just tried commenting again …. no luck.  Same issues that I experienced last time. I get about two sentences typed and all of a sudden the advertisements ‘take over’ and I can’t get back into the comment block. Tried several times. The first line seems to type okay. As soon as the message gets to the second line, the computer goes crazy.  The ads flash on & off and when I try to scroll back down to the commenting block, the ads come back and boot me out of the comment block! I’m commenting at work (again) so will try from my home computer tonight. Will let you know if it works cuz it could just be some ‘block’ that my work computer might have.  Thing is though, no issues with other blogs.   Ta ta for now.   🙂 Geri

    Reply
  10. Bobby

    I loved Therese’s card but wasn’t about to buy the owls, even though I LOVE them. I never thought to use those Paradise birds. They look every bit as good, Anita, and making two is even better.

    Reply
  11. Bev

    Hey girl! You know what’s funny? I CASEd this same card by Therese!! Great minds think alike and we know a fantastic card when we see one! These are fantastic and I love your take on the inspiration photo. Those little birds are darling, especially dressed in colored circles and with their GA eyes. Fabulous! Hope all is well with you, and I hope to have a good long sit down to drop you an email soon. Missing you dear friend. xoxo

    Reply
  12. Susan

    I love this idea of stamping a simple dot over an image…I’m going to have to copy this idea! Love it!

    Reply
  13. Geri G

    …well, it seems that it is my CRAZY computer at work…cuz commenting appears to be working well on my home computer!

    I absolutely adore these sweet birds and the really, REALLY cool colored circles that you stamped to highlight the images! Adding the little dot of a darker shade is sooooo clever and so effective! Two adorably ‘tweet’ little cards!

    BTW….did you get the staircase finished?

    Reply
  14. Judith

    What a quirky happy card…just love those birds. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon x

    Reply
  15. Jane

    These cards are so contemporary and oh so desirable! Absolute magic! Thanks for linking up with Uniko’s masculine challenge.

    Reply
  16. Rosemary D

    what a fantastic set of cards, anita!! I love how you stamped the images and then added just spots of color!!

    Reply
  17. Darnell J Knauss

    You really did have a bit of fun with these two precious cards, Anita, and now we are having a lot of fun enjoying them! You do know that every card you make goes in my To-CASE folder, don’t you?! I’m your number one FAN!! AIMYALYAWIWTPWY!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  18. Zoey Scarpelli

    These are some awesome cards! I love the pattern and the stamp you used are great!
    I love the touch you did on the bird eyes, so clever!
    Thank you for playing with us over Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge, we hope to see you again soon!
    have a great day, x Zoey

    Reply
  19. Jill Vickers

    These cards are so much fun Anita – I love how you CASE-d Therese’s card in these fun tropical colours with those cute birds! Perfection, as always!

    Reply
  20. Barbara Roe

    Bonjour! Oh these cards are so charming Anita. The inspiration photo is full of wonderful ideas to make a card or two and I may give it a try. All is well here. We are enduring June Gloom a Southern California term for overcast skies and coastal fog. This morning it was rainy and drizzling and now six hours later there are blue skies. I best not complain because soon it may be to hot and humid for me. I hate rain but really dislike humidity. Hope all goes well in your beautiful neck of the world. Hugs, Barb

    Reply
  21. anja curvers

    Wow these are awesome love them both, great take on the challenge. Thank you for joining us over at CAS on Sunday.

    Reply
  22. born57

    Hi sweet friend! What a fun idea for both cards,very artsy and whimsical! Sorry I am so bad at commenting but always happy to see what you create! Hugs and Blessing to you!

    Reply
  23. Brenda Lawrence

    OMGosh, I love how simple this card is, but yet it is so awesome!!! I love the birds you used and I love how you used the dots of color on top of them! To cool are these cards Anita and you are a clever gal! Love, love, love! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  24. Claire A

    I always love the cards you make using these MFT stamps Anita – makes me want to buy the set! Love the pops of colour behind them..such a great way to easily add colour!

    Reply
  25. izzyscrap

    Ooh la la ! J’ai du retard dans mes commentaires, mais je ne t’oublie pas ! 2 magnifiques cartes avec ces “drôles” d’oiseaux ! Superbe interprétation à la fois de la carte de Thérèse et de la photo d’inspiration ! Toujours pleine de ressources et d’excellentes idées ! J’adore ! Je reviens d’une semaine de Thalasso en Bretagne et je crois que les bains, les massages et le soleil m’ont complètement vidée de toute inspiration (mon cadeau d’anniversaire pour mon demi siècle !). Un retour à la maison laissée aux bons soins de mon cher et tendre et des 2 ados vont vite me remettre dans le bain pour échapper aux taches ménagères que je retrouve !😀
    À très bientôt sur blogland ! Bonne semaine ! Bises

    Reply
  26. DebGem

    They are both brilliant. I love the quirky birds and the way you’ve used the colour circles. Great modern look. Sorry to be so late commenting (Internet issues), thanks for playing along with our masculine challenge at Uniko. Deborah, DT.

    Reply
  27. hobbitnoll

    This design is fabulous!!! Love the way you used those fun birds and the circles. Totally amazing!!

    Reply
  28. Jen W.

    I love Therese’s owl card and your takes on it are equally brilliant! Those birds are so much fun and I love how you added the sentiments. Also the second glossy dots not he second card are such a cool touch!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

