Time Out DT #86, SSS Work It Wednesday – June, The Flower Challenge #9, Virginia’s Summer Blog Party

Hello … bonjour!   We’re starting a fabulous new challenge at Time Out this morning … this time round our theme is Celebrations … with the optional twist of making a one layer card. Here’s where I went with it …

Time OutI went with the one layer twist and was inspired by my lovely friend, Lindsey at Occasional Crafting, who makes gorgeous cards using outline stamps and coloured ink.  Actually she makes gorgeous cards using anything … if you haven’t visited Lindsey, you need to, really, your creative brain will thank you for it!   I stamped my blooms (CAS-ual Fridays Pretty Posies, thanks to owner, Michele) using a colour palette I’d saved on Pinterest (I like the unexpected touch of blue), masking as I went to create the corner cluster.  Both parts of the sentiment are from Papertrey and just because the card looked as though it needed them, I scattered some co-ordinating sequins across the white space.  They looked a touch heavy in comparison with the light airiness of the outline stamping, so I lightened them up by adding dots of white Enamel Accents to the centres.   Voilà!

Where will our theme take you?  Will you go with our one layer twist for your celebration card … or do you prefer a layer or two … it’s up to you.  Whichever way you choose, we’d love to see what you create in our gallery.  We’re sponsored this fortnight by CAS-ual Fridays (thanks, Michele!), who are offering a $20 GC to a randomly drawn twister … a great reason to give one layer a go!  As usual, our overall winner, as voted for by the DT, will be invited to guest design with us in a future challenge.  All the details are over at the Time Out blog … along with heaps of delicious inspiration from our fabulous DT … and from our amazingly talented Guest Designer, TaeEun.  You’ll have seen TaeEun’s beautiful work all over blogland … if you haven’t been over to her blog Rainbow in November before, do pay her a visit, you’ll love it … and will come away full of ideas!

I’m joining in at …

SSS Work It Wednesday – Summer Icons (flowers in full bloom!)

The Flower Challenge – Anything Goes

Virginia’s Summer Blog Party – Summer Creations (yep, she’s back!)

Hope you’ve been having a wonderfully crafty week … mine’s been filled with non-card and non-blogland stuff, and I’m looking forward to meandering around during the weekend and seeing what everyone’s been up to!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

workitwedbanner         

Save

Save

Save

33 thoughts on “Time Out DT #86, SSS Work It Wednesday – June, The Flower Challenge #9, Virginia’s Summer Blog Party

  1. katelesh

    Such a gorgeous dreamy palette!!! LOve how you added the matching sequins and LOVE the white enamel dots on the sequins – they look really funky!!!

    Reply
  2. Sandie

    such good masking-I need lessons! And that is a cool colour combo, that blue adds something a little special to it. I think you are right about the sequins and what a great idea to add the white x

    Reply
  3. Florence

    I was just thinking about you so calling in to say ” Hi, how you doing? ” Gorgeous card Anita. Beautiful design as always.
    Stay cool.
    Hugs Flo x

    Reply
  4. Jeanne

    This is such a light, cheery and beautiful card. I really like the stamping in the colored inks. Look fantastic. And the idea to put the white enamel on the sequins is brilliant! Wow!! 🙂 Hugs!

    Reply
  5. Michele F

    When you teach Sandie your masterful masking lesson, may I join you? LOvely blooms, gorgeous colors [yes, i’m turning into a fan of blue!] and softening those sequins with white? you are so smart! Hope to have the chance to play along … I’ve not One Single CASual Friday product – but have coveted them for years!
    =]

    Reply
  6. conil

    Simply exquisite…the outline flowers, the colors you chose, the incredible masking is a combination made in heaven. The result is…well…exquisite (yes, I know I already said that but there is not better word for this card). Clearly, you are a master (mistress?) of all you survey.

    Reply
  7. Geri G

    Soft, subtle, beautiful!!! Love the design and love the bold pop of black in the sentiment! FABULOUSLY CLEVER idea adding the wee dot of white to the sequins….definitely plays into the softness of the card 🙂

    Reply
  8. Marisela Delgado

    Hola, Anita! What a beautiful card! You can never go wrong with floral! I hope you are well. It is super HOT here. We hit 100*F the other day. We do summer big time in Texas. I’m doing a little better. =)

    Reply
  9. Judith

    What can I say…you have outdone yourself. I love the simplicity and colours and layout…so all of it really. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon xx

    Reply
  10. Aileen

    As always Anita a wonderful card beautiful colours and so much masking and all those flowers, perfection. Love it Thank you so much for joining us at The Flower Challenge Aileen DT

    Reply
  11. lollthompson

    Fantastic job with masking and stamping your beautiful blooms, Anita. Love the idea of outline stamping with different colours of ink. It looks amazing … so airy and light … and summery! The white enamel in the middle of the sequins is just perfect to lighten then up. So creative and clever! xx

    Reply
  12. Jennifer colacicco

    Fabulous card, masking to the rescue for one layer Cards 😊 I love that colour palette. Is t Pinterest awesome? I’d never have thought of that pop of blue but it works so beautifully. Love it, Jenny x

    Reply
  13. TaeEun

    Such a bright and crisp floral CAS design, Anita!!! Love you added the white dots on the sequins! It was a great finishing touch for your pretty card! Thank you so much for your lovely words about my blog 🙂 and for sharing this at The Flower Challenge!!!

    Reply
  14. BarbGhig

    Shame on me for showing up so late…especially since I can say that this card is even more beautiful in person!!! One layer cards can be very challenging, and you’ve done an amazing job masking all of these lovely blooms and leaves, Anita!
    Thank you so much for thinking of me on my birthday! Your card is in a prominent place where I can enjoy it every day, and I love it!!!

    Reply
  15. Lisa Kind

    Oh Anita, this is lovely! I love the cluster of flowers you created in the corner, and stamping them in color is just beautiful and delicate looking!

    Reply
  16. Bev

    Now I know I popped in to see what you’d made, and I thought I left a comment, but alas, I didn’t. For that I’m so sorry. It’s been a little nutty around here as of late. This is just about the most perfect one layer card ever. Those flowers all dressed in their pretty colors and nestled among those leaves are gorgeous. The ‘celebrate’ in that rich pink is fantastic, as well. What a lovely card!! You always make the prettiest things. I think of you often, and miss you every single day. xoxoxoxoxoxo

    Reply
  17. Darnell J Knauss

    Sorry I’m so late coming by to tell you how much I love this gorgeous – glorious, really – OLC, Anita! Yet another card that I instantly want to CASE from you! It’s clean and crisp and perfect! I hope I haven’t missed too many of your posts while I was away from the computer and I hope all is warm and wonderful where you are! ILAMYATOYEDMA! (You stumped me on your last one; I blame it on the medication, lol!) Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  18. Jen W.

    I love your bright and cheery card, Anita! Such happy colours and all so perfectly masked. And the enamel dots inside the sequins? So cool!

    Reply
  19. Bobby

    Stamping outline flowers in different colors of ink. Adding white centers to sequins. Perfect masking. I’d say you have it all in this wonderful card, Anita.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

