A Flower Filled Vase … and a Birthday Package

Hello … bonjour!  I had some crafty time yesterday afternoon … and have a couple of cards to share as a result.  Can’t say the stamps I used to make them are NBUS (Never Before Used Schtuff in Darnellese) … though they hadn’t been played with a great deal and were in need of some TLC, so p’raps they could be called BUGs … Barely Used Goodies!   Here’s the first …

A white panel, masked off along the side and lightly sponged/faded out with Distress Ink.  A vase mask acted a guide as to where to stamp (and secondary stamp) the floral arrangement, I die cut a new white vase and adhered it flat when the stamping was done, and then added the sentiment.  All the goodies are from MFT‘s Beautiful Blooms.  The panel was popped up on craft foam onto the card base and I added a scattering of Lucy’s Rainbow Jewels to finish off.

This is heading to (badges at the bottom) …

AAA Cards – Masking

Happy Little Stampers Dies – Anything Goes

MFT Color – Coral Crush, Spearmint, Green Eyed Monster, Blueberry (my closest colours)

MFT Wednesday Sketch – See Below

SSS Wednesday – Add a Sentiment

My second card is a very CAS twist on brown paper packages tied up with string (did that have you breaking into song?) …

Another white panel, this time stamped and clear heat embossed with Papertrey‘s No Strings Attached … and then run through my Cuttlebug with a polka dot embossing folder.  The tag was done separately.  I heat embossed the sentiment (also Papertrey) so the colour would resist the yellow, stamped the tag over it and trimmed it out, and thanks to the magic of MISTI, was able to add the right bit of the bow to the top.  The finished tag was adhered onto the polka dots, so it has a little dimension.

My gift is going to be opened over at (badges at the bottom) …

CAS(E) This Sketch – See below for Chrissie’s sketch … mine’s a minimalist interpretation!

Color Throwdown – Hot Pink, Lime Green, Yellow

Create Along With Us – Release Week Challenge … Inspired by Keeway’s cool, crisp, graphic inspiration using the new Hey Stacks stamps, on Day 5 of the August Release (it’s below).

Seize The Birthday – Anything Goes

SSS Wednesday – Add a Sentiment

That’s it from me for now … wishing you a wonderful week ahead!  I have a little (well more than a little really) catching up to do … so will see you over the next couple of days!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

                 Sketch Challenge 346 #mftstamps

         

          Create-along-with-us-heading

         

Save

38 thoughts on “A Flower Filled Vase … and a Birthday Package

  1. Sandie

    Love how the sponging fades out and all these soft colours. What an adorable CAS second card…perfect idea for a quick Xmas card…cut out and the embossing and tag and viola a super quick Xmas card, ready to repeat…may have to use this idea!!

    Reply
  2. born57

    Yep the second card had me singing in my head! Both are beautiful! Beautiful blending behind the pretty vase of blooms!

    Reply
  3. Jeanne

    That first card is gorgeous, Anita! I adore the ink blending in the background and that vase filled with the lovely blooms. So pretty! And your second card is sweet and delightful. Yes, you got me humming the tune. But it’s a good one, so I don’t mind. LOL I also liked your new acronym, BUGS. I think Darnell would most certainly approve. 🙂 Have a happy day! Hugs! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Michele F

    Pink, yellow, and in our CTS gallery? these are a few of MY favorite things!!! LOve the embossed dots, and the chance to sing along, Anita!!! [the little vase of flowers is just outstanding, too!] xx
    =]

    Reply
  5. conil

    Yes, I still have the song in my head. Won’t sing it out loud because that could scare away a whole host of others….enough of that. Let’s talk about these two cards. The masked ink blending showcasing that love vase of blue flowers is so elegant and pretty. Definitely a winner. And your CAS confection is both sweet and fun. Love the embossed twine. What a couple of winners you’ve created. Hope all is well and you’re not too busy this week. I’m off now to sing to myself like Ms. Poppins.

    Reply
  6. susannev2014

    How lucky for us that you had time to create! Adore the layout on the first one and the soft, pretty colors! And the package looks great in all it’s CAS splendor! I wonder what’s in it…?

    Reply
  7. BarbGhig

    2 really elegant cards, Anita! I love how you inked the background behind your gorgeous vase and flowers..so pretty! I also love that you embossed your lovely package on the 2nd card! CAS perfection!!!

    Reply
  8. shirley-bee

    Ooh, I think this first card is my new favourite Anita card! I love the sharp line of the sponged background, fading out, and the different colours of inked foliage for depth. Then you top it off with the pristine white diecut vase. Perfection. And a brilliant QACAS ‘gift’ card. And yes, I’m singing 😉

    Reply
  9. lorraine

    Gorgeous cards Anita 🙂 I love the flowers on the first, so delicate and pretty, and the CAS package is fabulous! Love them both 🙂

    thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    Luv
    Lols x x x

    Reply
  10. Rosemary D

    love the soft serenity of the first card, anita…your color choices are perfection! the second one is another perfect example of CAS perfection!!

    Reply
  11. Geri G

    The first card is ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!!! The masked sponged panel looks SOOOOOO good! Lovin’ all the white space too!

    Second card…..I’m SO going to CASE this CAS beauty!!! No doubt about it…MISTI rocks! And so does your clever-as-ever card design! Love the polkie dots – totally fun 🙂

    Reply
  12. scrapperatheart

    Yes, I started singing right away! The first card is beautiful too! The light background shading is done Perfectly! The second card is perfect for anyone too! Thanks for being in our gallery at Seize the Birthday, I sure appreciate you!

    Reply
  13. Coralynn

    I love how you masked off and created the faded colour across the card. Thanks for playing along with us at AAA Cards!

    Reply
  14. catcraig

    Anita, well your crafty time was very well spent. These cards are fantastic. I love the sponged edge (I am going to steal that) under your bouquet, it sets it off nicely and adds a lovely bit of texture. Your second card is stunning in its simplicity. That bow is amazing and I love the swiss dots.

    Reply
  15. lollthompson

    Two brilliant cards, Anita. I love the masking and sponging on the first card that fades. That is so pretty. And a pretty vase of flowers. And your package tied up with string is adorable. I now have that song in my head. 🙂 xx

    Reply
  16. Bobby

    Great minds, Anita, although I didn’t follow through. I pulled out that old PTI stamp set and played around with it for a CTS card and couldn’t figure out what colors to use. I find that if I force a card I never like it so the practice piece sits on my desk. You on the other hand made a wonderful card.

    Reply
  17. Tracey McNeely

    A beautiful case of flowers followed by such a fun birthday card! The little creative details you always use are fabulous–the DI blending, the embossing folder. Amazing! xoxo

    Reply
  18. Sharron Gregory

    Beautiful fresh and clean designs! Love the fading behind your vase of blooms and the wonderful embossed polka dots on your second design!

    Reply
  19. Cathy R

    Gorgeous cards Anita, I too love how you’ve faded one side on the vase, it looks so effective! Great CAS gift card too, Cathy x

    Reply
  20. hobbitnoll

    This is so lovely. First, your sponging is just fabulous. I like the fade out effect. Your vase is lovely too. Beautiful design.

    Reply
  21. izzyscrap

    Another bunch of wonderful cards ! Love them both ! Love your floral composition and your faded background to pop it up ! And what a clever and creative idea your gift card ! Lately you spoil us with all your pretty CAS cards! We are very lucky ! Thanks for sharing and for inspiring ! Hugs !

    Reply
  22. baileyrosy

    and these are a few of my favourite things ! Thanks there Anita that song is well and truly stuck in my head. Two beautiful cards love the zingy string on the second and gorgeous embossing and the pretty colouring and stamping on the first.

    Marie

    Reply
  23. cmayne

    You’ve certainly shared a few of my favourite things in your duo of delight! The dotted ‘package’ is brilliant and charming; the vase of flowers, lovely!
    Hugs and love~c

    Reply
  24. Mac Mable

    Beautiful masking on your first card with the prettiest and delicate of colours. Just love the CAS second card, the texture on the card and so beautifully tied up and of course singing away as I type x Yes thank goodness for the Misti x

    Reply
  25. kimheggins

    Two simply sweet cards Miss Anita…just love your gorgeous vase of beautiful flowers and your package wrapped birthday card is so much fun!

    Reply
  26. Cornelia (fun stamping)c

    BUGS – ha ha! How funny! I have lots and lots of those!!!! Well, you made yours shine! Especially admiring that ombre blended background you created with that perfect sprinkling of sequins! The “present” card – what fun!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

