CAS(E) this Sketch #65, The Card Concept #4 (Floral), Cure For The Monday Blues #6

I experimented last night … and have an all-over-the-floor paper bin to show for it … and this card …

CTS 65, TCC 4, CFTMB 6

I’ve used Sam’s sketch at CAS(E) this Sketch (where I haven’t played for such a long time), I’m joining in with the floral theme at The Card Concept (Clean and Simple style), and for the first time, linking up with Taheera’s Cure For The Monday Blues.

This resist technique is a new one for me, hence the experimenting.  The Stampendous ranunculus were stamped on a watercolour card panel with Versamark ink, clear embossed and then coloured (inspired by Therese‘s Muse card here).  I used a couple of pinks and tried different amounts of water with them, to see if I could create some depth and shading on the blooms, and a kind of halo effect around them to go with the sketchy look.  Once the card was dry, I went over it all with a wash of Memento Galaxy Gold and added a little gold embossing to the flower centres.  The sentiment’s from Clearly Besotted, again stamped in Versamark and then embossed in gold.  I swiped the edges of a card base with Versamark and gold embossed them before adhering the flower panel flat to it.  It was going to be popped up, but the bit of warping did away with that idea … it’s going to live under a heavy book till I send it out!

The door will soon be closing at CTS, so I’m off to link.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

                   

27 thoughts on “CAS(E) this Sketch #65, The Card Concept #4 (Floral), Cure For The Monday Blues #6

  1. Tracey McNeely

    Anita this is stunning pink and gold are so pretty together. For a first crack at this technique it looks pretty pro to me my friend. 🙂 Thank you so much for joining us at the Card Concept!

    Reply
  2. Petra

    WOW, this does not look like an experiment – looks as if an expert has done it!!!! Lovely, Anita!! The shades of pink is beautiful and you have definitely succeeded on creating depth to your flowers. I love the gold – great choice to go with the white and pinks. Great card!!!

    Reply
  3. Shona Chambers

    Anita, this is so beautiful! To borrow a word from one of your other comments ‘dreamy’ is a grand way to describe this card. I’ve always been a silver person but have been seeing so much gold on cards lately, it has really grown on me. I love the combo of the pink and gold, its perfect. Its a fantastic take on the sketch too! And thanks so much for telling me about my win at Cas-ual Fridays, I can’t believe it!! Just when I’ve been mentioning on my blog about not having enough dies or stamps, this happens. Yippee! Can’t wait to have the stamps in my hands so I can create something new.

    Reply
  4. Geri G

    Yes,,,dreamy it is! Beautifully dreamy! The pink inks are so perfectly blended – you’re definitely a natural with this new technique! And I love how you carried the gold from the center of the flowers, to the sentiment and then to the card base!

    The floor must look so pretty, all covered in pink & gold!

    BTW…another one destined for the WC (winner’s circle)!

    Reply
  5. lostinpaper

    Isn’t it wonderful how something so pretty came come out of a mess. Love how you have added the gold highlights and sentiment, it really adds the perfect amount of glamour!

    Reply
  6. donna mikasa

    I’m glad you made the deadline, Anita! Love how you colored the flowers and the gold sentiment is perfect! Thanks for joining CTS this week!

    Reply
  7. c

    Ethereal, dreamy, soft, pretty…whatever the description, your card conveys ‘gorgeous’ to the nth degree! Your resist technique ‘first time’ appearance is stellar; the flowers are stunning, the gold/sparkle eye-catching. Glamourous!! LOVE it!!! Hugs~c

    Reply
  8. Joyce M.

    I would say that your experiment is definitely a success. This is so pretty–it’s got that dreamy water color quality–and the gold just takes it up a notch.

    Reply
  9. kimheggins

    Anita…this is stunning! I love the soft sweet feminine look to your card and it is so beautiful on your embossed background, you are so clever and very creative.

    Reply
  10. Bev

    Dang girl! Every time I visit your blog, you’ve created something fantastic. You are such a brave little teapot! I can’t even bring myself to buy watercolor paper…all of it would end up in the bin! This is gorgeous. You’ve achieved the depth you were after. And the gold…what a perfect compliment. Way to do it again Mary! LOVE this. ; )

    Reply
  11. taheerah

    All your experimentation paid off – your watercolour resist is stunning and I love the pop of gold to go with it! Thank you *so* much for playing to find a Cure For The Monday Blues!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.