Happy Birthday, Ardyth! Less Is More #173 (Die Cuts), Time Out #6 (Home Sweet Home), SSS Wednesday 28/5 (Anything Goes)

Today is the birthday of one of my lovely blogging buddies … everyone in blogland knows her, her stunning style, her wonderful contribution to our community through numerous design teams, her always encouraging, supportive and insightful comments … and on top of all that, she’s a thoroughly delightful soul!  So … please sing along where ever you are in the world, you never know how far many voices will travel … Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday dear Ardyth, Happy Birthday to you!   Hope you heard that, my friend … I sang it loud!  Wishing you a day full of happiness and a wonderful, creative and joy filled year ahead!

Happy Birthday Ardyth, LIM 173, Time Out 6

I’m sure my inspiration for this card came partly from seeing Ardyth’s wonderful cards at Maskerade … bright colours, graphic shapes, lots of white space!  It also came from Time Out, where there’s a fantastic ‘Home Sweet Home’ photo (below).   I focussed on the square shapes of the seats and for my colours, I picked out the seat to the left of the picture with the rug draped across it.  I’m also joining in at Less is More, where we’re using die cuts this week.

ETA  The team at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday are having an Anything Goes week, so I’m linking up there too!

Using a panel of card the same as the base, I die cut the letters from Mama Elephant, set them aside and sliced up the negative space … horizontally to split the word and vertically to separate the letters.  The negative pieces (bottom half) were coloured with Promarkers and were adhered to a piece of light card, trimmed to size.  I coloured the letters, coated them with Wink of Stella and slotted them into their negative spaces.  The rest of the sentiment was stamped and white embossed across all the colours and the resulting panel was popped up on foam tape on the card base.  Voila … my attempt at an Ardythesque card!

I may be back later with a little something else, depending on whether the idea translates well from brain to paper!  Thanks so much for coming by … your visits and lovely comments truly are a joy!  Anita 🙂

         Grab Our Badge!          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

     

54 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Ardyth! Less Is More #173 (Die Cuts), Time Out #6 (Home Sweet Home), SSS Wednesday 28/5 (Anything Goes)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.