Muse #82 (Bobby), Keep It Simple #47 (Ombré), Simply Create Too #69 (Show Us Something New), SSS Wednesday 27/8 (Anything Goes)

Goodness, it’s seems ages since I was here … well, I suppose it is really, certainly over a week!  So happy to have been able to stop off at my craft desk tonight … and spend just a little longer than fleeting moments playing with paper and ink.  I made a card and a half … sharing the whole one here (duh!) … and for the first time in a century or two, there’s almost no white on it (comfort zone warning lights going off) … Muse 82, KIS 47, SCT 69, SSSW 27-8            KISs

I was inspired by Bobby‘s stunning card at Muse, which has black ‘white space’ … see below and be prepared to be wowed!  Bobby stencilled that gorgeous pattern … isn’t it amazing?  Not being in possession of a suitable stencil and embossing paste, however, nor enough black card for a card base (what?), I struggled a little.  Tonight, I found this …

Swirly bobbly vellumyep, swirly, bobbly vellum … that did the trick.  I cut a panel and coloured the back with alcohol markers to create ombré swirls.  The front was brushed with Perfect Pearls to give the bobbles a little more pzazz and the panel was attached to a white card base.  I die cut the Studio Calico thanks, adhered it to the vellum and gave it a lick of Wink of Stella.  The two slim black strips (also WoS’d) and bling finished it off.  It’s not quite as CAS as I envisaged when I started (and certainly not as CAS as Bobby’s card) … it’s the lack of white ‘white space’ … which is something that ‘hardly hever appens’ (Eliza Doolittle, My Fair Lady) on my cards.

Nevertheless, I’m playing along with …

MuseBobby‘s card is below

Keep It Simple – Ombré

Simply Create Too – Something New (Studio Calico thanks die)

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Anything Goes

If I get the second half of the other card finished, I’ll be back tomorrow … for now I’m off for a quick meander around blogland before bed.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

Bobby’s Card

           

Grab Our Badge!         Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

35 thoughts on “Muse #82 (Bobby), Keep It Simple #47 (Ombré), Simply Create Too #69 (Show Us Something New), SSS Wednesday 27/8 (Anything Goes)

  1. sheryruss

    Oh wow, that is gorgeous, Anita!!! I was going to ask which EF you used until I got to the part about the vellum and alcohol markers! Great improvisation — and as I’m a sucker for orange and yellow combo (anything fall colors, really), I had to go take a closer look at your card and admire it up close!

    Reply
  2. Bobby

    Your card is fabulous, Anita. I’ve been impressed with the number of ways people have been inspired by my card. Your bobbly vellum is a great way to go and I love the coloring. Not only that, you found a couple of other challenges that this lovely creation qualified for. Way to go!!

    Reply
  3. Christine Smith

    Stunning card! I love the colours and it’s such a cool idea colouring on the reverse of the vellum. The black strips, sentiment and pearls really look cool on the vibrant colours – love it! xxx

    Reply
  4. Brenda

    I totally loved Bobby’s card too-just is so beautiful and amazing, but your card is amazing too Anita! I really thought you had embossed those swirls onto white card stock and then inked it with distress inks. So imagine my surprise when I found out it was vellum and you used alcohol markers on the vellum. That truly amazes me and I think your card turned out so awesome!!! I know you are missing your “white space” but it truly is a beautiful card with the black accents. I just love the vibrate colors on this one. Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  5. kimheggins

    Anita, this is just stunning! How fun to find that vellum, so perfect for what you wanted to do. And your colors, so vibrant and beautiful.

    Reply
  6. serendipitydragonfly

    Stunning Anita and absolutely ingenious the way you got round not having enough black card. I also thought it was an e/f until I’d finished reading your post…….now wouldn’t it be great if an e/f manufacturer saw your card and produced one! I’d definitely buy it! Fabulous……

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  7. Shona Chambers

    You know what, white space wasn’t good enough to be included in this incredible card….its awesome! And what a find that vellum was, its perfect with all the swirly whirlys. Brilliant idea and love the colouring behind the vellum, looks like distress inks to me, blended so beautifully. I know how strange it is when you have no white, to me it feels like the card is over-dressed i.e. has a turtle-neck on with a jacket and a hat and a scarf, with mittens. Sometimes its just called for and this was it. Its a winner for sure!!!!

    Reply
  8. Petra

    Oh, this is so very beautiful, Anita!!! And how perfectly that piece of vellum fits for CASEing Bobby’s lovely card, hey!! I absolutely love the colours you have used and the way you have applied it being darker in the centre of your swirls!! The ‘thanks’ is so delicate and beautiful – it looks great and the black strips and enamel dots round it off perfectly!!! Lovely card once again, Anita!!
    Have a super Monday!!

    Reply
  9. c

    OMGorgeous, Anitia! Seriously, that swirly vellum was a fantastic ‘find’ and your copic colouring on the back, absolutely eye-catching, brilliant! Who needs black cardstock (I don’t have any either, at the moment…gahhh!) when swirly, bobbly vellum is at hand! I’m in awe….
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  10. Barbara Roe

    Oh Anita this card is wonderful. Why when we try something outside our comfort zone do we question are accomplishment? Seriously every card you make is award winning. When your friends applaud your achievements just say Thank You. Look forward to you next creation.
    Hugs, Barb

    Reply
  11. Michele F.

    Anita!!! This is so wonderful – the colors are so early Autumn… that vellum!? Where in this wonderful world did you find it??? First I’ve seen of this fab die cut – oh now I want it =/ So happy to read I’m not the only one who doesn’t have stencils – choosing my addictions carefully =]

    Reply
  12. BarbGhig

    This is really gorgeous, Anita! I love how you inked the vellum to create all those pretty colors…it’s perfect, and you’ve done an amazing job CASEing Bobby’s inspiration card!

    Reply
  13. Lindsey L.

    Beautiful card, Anita! I’m super impressed you didn’t use any white (I struggle with that!), and I’m thrilled you had some extra time to create. I understand how precious that time is. 🙂

    Reply
  14. djkardkreations

    Wow, Anita! This is unusual for you, but still as scrumptious as any card you’ve made! I love how you used the swirly vellum to make your take on Bobby’s card and that Thanks die is nothing short of awesome, especially all sheened up with WOS!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  15. Claire A

    Always good to get out of your comfort zone isn’t it Anita? I’d never have guessed you’d used vellum..it looks amazing and the black sentiment finishes it off perfectly!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.