Time Out DT #27 Mid Challenge Reminder, Just Us Girls #285, Uniko #19, SSS Wednesday – 25 March

We’re mid way through our latest fabulous challenge at Time Out … our theme is Clean and Simple (yummy!) … with the optional twist of black and white with a splash of one other colour.  Here’s my card for this week …

Time Out DT 27R, JUGS 285, Uniko 19, SSSW 25-3Time OutThe Papertrey ‘hugs’ was die cut in white and I used removable Scotch tape (thanks to BABES Geri and Ardyth!) to lift out the tiny insert details.  Strips of the tape were applied to the back of the cut word, which was then sliced across the middle and each half was coloured with alcohol markers.  I masked and sponged a white card panel with black, lined up and adhered the two half hugs flat to the panel, slotted in the white inserts (easy peasy with the help of the tape!) and covered the word with lashings of Wink of Stella.  The rest of the sentiment above and below the ‘hugs’ was stamped and heat embossed.  I masked and sponged the card base top and bottom with aqua, popped the finished panel up onto it on foam tape and added a scattering of sequins and gems.

Have you played along with us yet?  How about it?  If you use the twist, you’re in with a random chance of winning a US$20 gift voucher from our sponsor, CAS-ual Fridays … and as usual, our overall winner (chosen by the DT) will be invited to be a Guest Designer for a future challenge.  All the details are over at the Time Out blog, along with a heap of inspiration from our fabulous DT and our wonderfully talented GD for this fortnight, the lovely Susanne, from Keep In Touch Cards  (go visit, you’ll see what I mean!).  I do hope you’ll find time to have some fun and join in … look forward to seeing you in the gallery!

I’m playing along with …

Just Us Girls – black, white and one other colour

Uniko – Anything Goes

SSS Wednesday – Anything Goes

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          Grab button for Uniko Studio Challenge          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

37 thoughts on “Time Out DT #27 Mid Challenge Reminder, Just Us Girls #285, Uniko #19, SSS Wednesday – 25 March

  1. icardeveryone01

    What delicate surgery you’ve had, cutting that word in two, Anita. With all those extra little bits and pieces from the die…. wonderful! Your card[s], and hugs, make everyone’s day brighter…
    =] Michele

    Reply
  2. TK

    Awesome! This is just gorgeous, and I can’t believe you got such great even results with the masking and sponging! I just adore the color combo.

    Reply
  3. chriss58

    Oh I love this big hugs die and I have it…I am amazed at how beautiful and crisp looking this turned out to be Anita. Your creative surgery is so precise and the blue colouring is such a warm shade. I can even see the WOS when I enlarge the photo. I did get some of the wink, because of your cards you know! Great tip with the scotch tape that you have shared and I will be trying that too!
    Lovely warm hugs to you 🙂

    Reply
  4. Nancy L.

    The words look so cool in the two different colors…I have not attempted this as of yet. Thanks for inspiring me and for joining the girls and I over at JUGS~

    Reply
  5. Ina

    That sentiment looks fabulous. So bold and bright. Great layout. Thanks for joining us at Just Us Girls this week.

    Reply
  6. BarbGhig

    Oh Anita, I LOVE how you played with this die! The pop of blue looks fabulous, and I love how the word is sliced in half…Very cool design!

    Reply
  7. Claire A

    Oh I never thought of using tape to get all those little pieces out of an intricate die Anita! What a great tip. This is wonderful …such a clever design. Hope I get the chance to join in this week at TO…love B & W challenges!

    Reply
  8. Lee Ann Barrett

    This design is fabulous, Anita! I am so impressed with how you fit all of those bitty pieces back in place; I will need to try your technique. You are quite the CAS master! Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving me a little blog love. You had asked about the circle image stamp I used for my embossed project at Virginia’s View; I believe it is a Deep Red stamp. Hope you can find it!

    Reply
  9. Geri G

    Seriously? Easy Peasy? Your card is sporting several really cool & trendy techniques dear friend that had me wondering where the ‘easy’ part fit in!!! Well worth the effort cuz this is one creative, bold, dynamic and clever creation! Using the tape for the wee pieces is such a good idea. I wondered (out loud to myself and the kitty) why I never thought of this! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  10. Tracey McNeely

    Clean Simple and hugworthy Anita! I love that die that I haven’t even used. Fantastic black and blue!

    Reply
  11. Bobby

    I think I got lost somewhere in the explanation of how you did this but it sure is fabulous. TFS the idea about the tape. I thought about getting this die but held off. Maybe it’s time.

    Reply
  12. Shona Chambers

    Gosh I love this so much! The black, the white and the turquoise combo is gorgeous and just love the way you die-cut the ‘hugs’. Extremely clever and creative, something I always find when I visit your blog.

    Reply
  13. jmhave44

    Not just CAS beautiful, but dramatically so, with this fabulous Hugs die (love the intricate design in the letters so much), with the duo toned card. It’s a showstopper for sure. The inlaid die is perfectly done. TFS & Happy Sunday.

    Reply
  14. born57

    This two toned hugs card is amazing Anita! Looks complicated to make but I am sure you had some simple ways to design this one. Beautiful!

    Reply
  15. Brenda

    Wow, this card is just beautiful Anita! I love the color combo and I love you you did your “hugs”. Sounds complicated, but boy are the results worth it. Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  16. c

    I want to HUG this stunning card of yours, stylish and eye-catching in it’s turquoise and black finery! Breath-taken away gorgeous! Barb G sent me some die-cuts of big ‘hug’ sentiments and wow…with your card fanning the flames, I need to start showcasing them! This is an absolute delight!
    Hugs~c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

