Twofer Card Challenge #34 – Flowers

Hello … bonjour … and Happy New Year … Bonne Année! May this year be blessed with good health, joy, hope and creativity for us all.  Welcome back, too, after my six week blogland break … it’s great to be here again! Over at Twofer ,we’re leaping into our fourth year of challenges … with plenty of delicious prompts to inspire you … and some changes to the Design Team. We’re saying a very fond farewell to the lovely and super talented Kara and Cat … and saying a warm and happy hello to our new team members, Sonja and Bonnie … welcome, ladies! If you’ve played along at Twofer before, you’ll know how much fun it is to create two distinctly different designs for two different occasions using the same stamps, dies or stencils … and if you haven’t yet joined us … why not give it a go? This month we have one of my favourite card making themes to tempt you … and I’m pretty sure you’ll be itching to dig out your supplies when you see the prompt. It’s …

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is January%2B2021.jpg

I created a bold, dramatic ‘just because’ card … and a bright, spring-like ‘beautiful day’ card … using this gorgeous Summer Sketches bloom from The Greetery. Here’s a closer look at each one …

This is one of my go-to clean and simple designs … the image is centred on the card and the sentiment (from Catherine Pooler) is stamped just below it. I added subtle detail by embossing a frame with a die from Spellbinders and doing a little splattering. There’s also a touch of shimmer and shine on the flowers and stamens, which you can see better here …

I stayed with the conventional use of the flower for my second card …

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 359c5-kc2baward.jpg

This is another CAS design … albeit a little fuller than the first. Here, the outline flowers were gold embossed in diagonally opposite corners of the card to form a frame around the WPlus9 sentiment (also gold embossed), before being over stamped with the solid images. I added some Nuvo drops to match and added interest by double scoring the two empty corners.

How about joining us with some flowers of your own … we’d love to see you (and them) in our gallery!  All the details about how to play along, including rules and FAQs are over at the Twofer blog … together with heaps of splendid inspiration from the DT.  We’re delighted to have two fabulous Guest Designers joining us this month … Viv from Viv’s Visuals … and Brenda from Inkspired To Stamp … welcome ladies!  If you haven’t met these talented artists yet, do go and enjoy a wander through their blogs … you’ll find inspiration galore!  Even if you are familiar with their work, why not pop along anyway … you can always say hello while you’re there!

My single floral sprig is heading to …

CAS Mix Up – Splatters (plus dry embossing and stamping)

Color Hues – Red and Grey (happy to be playing along at last!)

Watercooler Wednesday – Anything Goes with a Feminine Twist

… and my spring florals are joining in at …

Addicted to CAS – Emboss

Krafty Chicks – Stamp Act

The Flower Challenge – Heat/Dry Embossing

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

Krafty Chicks Challenge

44 thoughts on “Twofer Card Challenge #34 – Flowers

  1. Marisela Delgado

    Bonjour, Anita! So wonderful to hear your beautiful voice and see your gorgeous cards! I have missed you, but I sure am glad that you are back! Feliz Ano Nuevo, mi amiga! 💜 Your cards are fabulous! Sending you many warm hugs. 💜🐼❤🐻

    Reply
  2. Helen F

    How wonderful to see you joining us at WCW this week, Anita! As always your cards are beautiful! You are the queen of the twofer challenges and CAS cards! Stay safe and I hope 2021 is a good one for you and your family! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sonja

    Thank you for the warm words to welcome me as a member of the designer team. Your flower cards are gorgeous. I like the simple red and grey design with splatters and delicate dry embossed frame. The socond card is so joifull in bright colours.
    Have a great year 2021!
    Hugs, Sonja

    Reply
  4. Mac Mable

    What a pretty flower stamp Anita and what beautiful cards, both of them x.
    The first card is perfectly CAS. I love the splats and the delicacy of the card x.
    The framing with the flowers looks fabulous, on the second and what a wonderful design x.
    Fabulous inspiration, thank you and sending New Year hugs…x.

    Reply
  5. Brenda In IN

    Oh Wow, Anita. These are both beautiful. I love the red and gray – clean and simple that lets the stamp be highlighted so well. The design on your second card is lovely and I have now added that stamp to my wish list.

    Reply
  6. Karen Walker

    It is a wonderful CAS design! I love the embossed frame around the gorgeous red florals. And the touch of sparkle is a great final touch! Thanks for joining us at Color Hues!

    Reply
  7. katelesh

    Great to see you back and with two beauties!! I hope you had a joyful and peaceful Christmas – though it sure was a different one for most of us! Stay safe and well, the end is near I hope!

    Reply
  8. Sandie Munro

    Wonderful to see you back and a very Happy New Year. Adore the cards and love how easy you make this challenge looks and as always love the added shine and that glitter! Sending hugs xx

    Reply
  9. djkardkreations

    Happy New Year, mon amie, and welcome back to Blogland! It’s always wonderful to see your stunning creativity and how you designed your TCC cards! These are both beautiful designs, beautifully colored and distinctly different! I love the scoring at the corners! LYAMYALFTC! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  10. Bonnie

    I love these red flowers, Anita! Red is always so welcome in the gray days of winter. I love how you’ve added the glitter and splatters on the first card and how the gold embossing gives the second a very elegant look! Thanks so much for the warm welcome at Twofer and for sharing with us at CAS Mix Up!

    Reply
  11. BarbGhig

    Hi Anita! Welcome back and Happy New Year to you! I love your choice of flowers and how you used a bold color palette on the first card with a classic CAS design! Great idea to use bright fun colors on the 2nd one, too…you have showcased this stamp set beautifully, my friend! Thanks so much for inspiring me to play along ~ xx

    Reply
  12. BarbGhig

    I’m sorry…I also meant to thank you for playing along with us at Addicted to CAS! We always enjoy seeing your beautiful cards in our gallery!

    Reply
  13. Diane Lebrun

    Such beautiful cards. I like the concept of Twofer. Absolutely love the splatters and the glimmer of the first card. That gold embossing on the second card, wow!
    Thank you for playing along with us over at Krafty Chicks Challenge.
    Diane – DT

    Reply
  14. Karen Brown

    Two very pretty cards! I like the beautiful and dramatic red. Have a great week and thanks for joining us at Watercooler Wednesday. Karen

    Reply
  15. Jeanne

    Hello Anita! Happy New Year! Welcome back and what a delightful return. These cards are lovely. I do like the details of each. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  16. Lisa Elton

    Well hello there, I’ve missed you! Happy New Year! You’ve given us two beautiful cards today. CAS perfection!

    Reply
  17. Bev Kastman Buenker

    Beautiful reentry into blogland, my friend. FIrst, I love that TG flower stamp; simple, lovely, eye-catching. Next, your designs are impeccable – for reals. I’m going to borrow your corner stamping on an upcoming card. Also, I stink at embossing with dies, and so I am seriously jealous that you make them so perfectly; maybe you should come over for the winter and teach me! One can dream…! Hope your New Year is special. Relax, take time to enjoy everything, and keep making those gorgeous card. Miss you. xoxo

    Reply
  18. Marcia Hill

    So much to LOVE about both of these cards Anita!! I love the CAS designs on both and the stamp set you used is one of my favorites from The Greetery! Really like the non traditional colors on your 1st card and also how you used the Spellbinders die to make a subtle embossed frame around the flowers…sooooo pretty! Your 2nd card is just as lovely with the gold embossing and also the dry embossing in 2 of the corners…love that simple touch!! Lovely, lovely cards and happy, happy New Year my friend!! Hugs. :0)

    Reply
  19. Kara

    What a wonderful twofer, Anita, and a lovely post as well. I hope you behold many blessings this new year, my dear friend! I always admire your artistic balance and details, Anita, and both of your cards are remarkable. I think my favorite detail is how you double scored the two corners on your beautiful day card. It’s those little touches that make me smile!

    Reply
  20. Vicky

    Lovely to have you back Anita! Hope you enjoyed your break and wishing you a happy and healthy 2021! Your cards are beautiful as always. Love the subtle embossed frame on your bold card and the gold embossing gives your other card a lovely light bright feel. Thanks for coming to play at ATCAS this fortnight! Vicky x

    Reply
  21. Brenda Lawrence

    Well, I’m going to try this for the third time. I love your twofers Anita! The stamp you used is so pretty. The first twofer is bold and bright, it says look at me! lol I love it! I also love it’s sparkle and shine which adds to the look at me thing. Your second twofer is softer and so summery looking and who doesn’t appreciate a little summer in the middle of winter?! Love it! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  22. cat craig

    Beautiful cards Anita, two lovely and different designs. I am particularly fond of the double bloom with the embossed lines.

    Reply
  23. TaeEun

    Love both versions of your take! It’s so inspiring to see how different the twofer cards could look! The bright one shines even brighter with the gold embossing! And I love the score lines! Thank you so much for playing along at The Flower Challenge, Anita! Happy New Year!

    Reply
  24. maria f.

    Happiest of new years, Anita. May it be a good one. Eventually. Saw your card at TFC and had to come tell you how wonderfully bright and crisp it is. And voila! A second one with that cool stamp. Lovely.

    Reply
  25. Barbara Roe

    Dear Anita I love the bold look of your cards. You usually used soft pastel colors and this is a new look for you. Hope the two of you are doing well. There is a TV show that is a British couple redoing a chauteau (40 rooms) in Southern France, I wonder if that is something that airs in France. Oh it is so charming and it makes Cal and I think of you. Hugs, B

    Reply
  26. Loll

    Two amazing cards using that beautiful spray, Anita! LOVE the first one with the deep red with sparkle and splatters. Gorgeous – thanks for sharing with us at CAS Mix Up! And then the two beautiful sprays in shades of orange with gold embossing — more gorgeousness!! Thanks for joining us at The Flower Challenge! xx

    Reply
  27. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    Two gorgeous card, but that’s no surprise! Love the sparkle on the second one – you captured it perfectly! Not easy to do. As it goes, I probably won’t find time to play along – too may other things to do….Perhaps next month….

    Reply
  28. coni longley

    Congratulations on your HM at the flower challenge. It’s a fabulous card so I know they made the right choice. The touch of gold is a lovely surprise…adds so much to final product.

    Reply
  29. Tracey McNeely

    Anita your cards are so gorgeous, as always! Good for you taking a blogging break, I am still on one only doing a few things I already committed to. We all need that once in a while!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.