WPlus9 Birthday Week 4 (Stretch It), SSS Monday 24/2 (Paste)

Second post of the day … here’s another ‘renovation stuff’ card …

WPlus9 Bday 4, SSSM 24-2

This is another entry at the fourth week of WPlus9‘s birthday celebrations.  I’m meeting the Stretch It theme (try a new style or technique or use supplies in a creative way) by doing some stencilling … never done that before.  At Simon Says Stamp Monday, we’re challenged to use paste … mmm … there’s a match!

I don’t have any stencils … or  embossing paste … so I used my trusty plasterboard mesh tape and mixed up a little jointing medium (I got the idea for the latter from Shirley who used polyfilla in the same way not long ago) .  The tape was temporarily adhered to a white card panel and each side was masked.  I made three piles of ‘paste’, squished them into distress inks on a non-stick sheet and then spread away, merging the three colours as I went.  While it was drying, I trimmed a vellum banner, and stamped and silver embossed the WPlus9 sentiment.  Once the panel was dry, the banner was adhered at one end to the back and at the other with a wee glue dot.  A scattering of silvered sequins finished it off … one covers the glue dot.  I inked up the edges of a card base and adhered the panel flat to it.

One more to go tonight … back soon!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a delight!  Anita 🙂

            Simon Monday Challenge Blog

22 thoughts on “WPlus9 Birthday Week 4 (Stretch It), SSS Monday 24/2 (Paste)

  1. serendipitydragonfly

    This is amazing Anita – you’ve been so creative in how you’ve done this. Just goes to show there is always another way without having to go out and pay loads for the “proper” stuff!!! Gorgeous.

    Karen x

    Reply
  2. c

    Polyfilla! Brilliant! I have one stencil and with this little tidbit form you, I may finally get around to using it! Your card: gorgeous! In fact, I quite love it!!! Hugs~c

    Reply
  3. djkardkreations

    I didn’t notice which challenges you were joining, but if you don’t win, I’ll seriously be furious. This is now my new favorite Anita card of all time!! GENIUS TO THE MAX!!!!!!! I mean, the coloring alone … shut up!! Glorious!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  4. Geri G

    …and I REALLY quite like this card! I left such a clever comment on this post but it seems that some internet creature has gobbled it up! I’m sure I told you how talented and creative you are and that using your plasterboard mesh tape for something other than your house, is clever as ever! Love the soft shades of blue! Nice bling too!

    Reply
  5. Petra

    WOW, you’ve done a great job, Anita – great idea!! Loving how you’ve done the colour fading towards the bottom and I love your sentiment!! The sequins are perfectly placed! Well done!!

    Reply
  6. Leanne S

    Beautiful CAS card. Love how you utilized some mesh to make it. As craft supplies are not available here, I admire such helpful ideas. Do visit my blog I’ve shared a technique there too.

    Reply
  7. Shona Chambers

    How exciting, I just found you on the Moxie Fab World Blog Roll, congratulations on being spotted! And no wonder, you know how much I love this card!! Thanks so much on your comments too about my first shaker card..its a wonder its still full of sequins as its been shaken by everyone who visited today. Will definitely make some more!!

    Reply
  8. Geri G

    Whooo Hooo! Congrats on the Moxie Fab Blog Roll shout-out t!!!! Way to go pal…you SO deserve the recognition!

    Had a blast visiting Brady and meeting Carol. Will blog about the fun weekend later tonight!

    !

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.