Twofer Card Challenge #4 – Pets

Hello … bonjour … and welcome to our wonderful April Twofer Card Challenge!  We have a fun theme for you this month … and I’m guessing you’ll have a few stamps and/or dies in your stash that you can choose from to make your cards … it’s …

Here’s how I was inspired …

For those of you who might be wondering … no, we do not have a pig as a pet … though we do know someone in the next village who has two!  Hence my choice of these fun Simon Says Stamp party pigs, the common image on my Twofer.  How about a closer look at each one …    In his original form, this little guy is holding a big balloon and sporting a party hat … though I wanted to focus on his wide outstretched hands … paws … trotters, so I trimmed him out.  He was coloured with alcohol markers, coated with a thick layer of Glossy Accents and had some googly eyes added.  He wanted to wear a T shirt with ‘pig’ on it … though as he couldn’t find one that suited his rather demanding tastes, he decided to simply wear the word … he’s a bit of a rebel … and loves a fun sentiment!  The base card was embossed several times with a Lawn Fawn stitched border … I die cut the Winnie & Walter hugs (to go with those welcoming trotters) in silver striped PP and black craft foam and adhered them over the stitching … and Monsieur Cochon just hopped on next to the sentiment, popped up on foam dots (with a double layer of foam under his trotters).  I know he’d love you to see a close up of his big friendly smile …

My Twofer …

Here, Monsieur Cochon is appearing with a few friends … leaping out from behind a wall for a surprise birthday party.  They’ve kept their fun hats on this time, though got a little over excited and managed to burst all their balloons … so I masked them off (flat balloons just don’t have the same festive feel as full round ones!).  The wall is a black edged, MFT stamped, popped up sentiment panel … and the pigs’ party outfits are courtesy of some coloured pencils, a white gel pen, Spectrum Noir shimmer and a touch of Stickles.  You can see the excitement in their Enamel Accent-ed eyes here …

Voilà … my two distinctly different designs … for two distinctly different occasions … using the same stamp!  I went conventional with the use of my stamp this time around (my pig stayed a pig on each card) … and you can too, if that’s what you’d like to do.  You can also stretch your stamp or die in an unexpected way (as I hope you’ve seen in previous Twofer posts), although that’s not a requirement to play along.  If you haven’t already seen the last winners post (here), the lovely Darnell has decided to have two winner’s spots … one for conventional and one for  unconventional use of your stamp or die … how perfect is that … this is Twofer after all!

So … do you have a pet you’d like to depict on your cards this month … or will you need to put your thinking cap on and ‘borrow’ one as I did?  We’d love to see your two distinctly different designs … for two distinctly different occasions … using the same stamps or dies … in our gallery!  All the information you need, including timescales, guidelines, rules and FAQs, as well as a whole heap of fantastic inspiration from the brilliant DT … is over at the Twofer blog … it’s just a click away!   We’re delighted to have a talented Guest Designer with us this time around … welcome to Pia from Pia’s Papir Og Perler … our winner from challenge 2.  Do pop over for a visit with Pia, you’ll find so much fun and fabulous inspiration over at her blog … and you can leave some love for her while you’re there!

My Pig Hugs are heading over to …

AAA Cards – A Favourite Technique … mine is die cutting

Happy Little Stampers Dies – Anything Goes

Mod Squad – Simply Clean

… and my Sweet Birthday Pigs will be celebrating at …

MFT Color – Cement Grey, Peach Bellini, Coral Crush, Blue Breeze … below (my closest colours)

SSS Wednesday – Happy Birthday … congratulations to the SSSW DTs past and present … eight splendid years packed with fun challenges … thank you … and here’s to many more!

SSS Monday – Mythology/Inspired By A Story … my story is The Three Little Pigs!

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

                   
Modsquad Challenge         

44 thoughts on “Twofer Card Challenge #4 – Pets

  1. Jeanne

    Wow! What a duo of delight here, Anita. I really like your choice to use the pig stamps and how much fun they are on each card. Great job!

    Reply
  2. Michele F

    There are few things in this world cuter than a baby pig… and, baby, a pig with a tattoo has to be second-cutest!!! Pig Hello, indeed, Anita – who wouldn’t immediately smile to receive this card? Now those party pigs have really spent a bit of time bellied-up to the trough … LOve that really PIG sentiment!
    I am totally pet-less at the moment – one day! hmmm how about a beret sporting chicken? xx
    =]

    Reply
  3. Darnell Jean Knauss

    What a kick, Anita! If I ever need to go on vacay and can’t take Hammy, I know who I am going to have hamster-sit for me! You are a natural with the story-telling and the fabulous fun cards! I especially love Trotters with his wide-stretched arms and his exuberance over giving me a hug! I’ll take it!! And he even got a sweet understated tattoo with his name on it just to confirm he is a rebel! No wonder he has a little gang of friends who love to play with peek-a-boo with him! Well done, my friend! ILYAMYATYFTAP! Hugs, Darnell xxoo

    Reply
  4. Barbara Roe

    Dear Anita how fun to see a cutesy, whimsical side of your artistic talents. These little porkers make a great card and I think I have two NBUS pig sets I may use shortly. Bonjour! Barb

    Reply
  5. cat craig

    Anita, what a fabulous post to go along with your darling card. I love your sense of humor.
    The googlie eyes on Mr Cochon go perfectly with his tattoo’d chest. I adore your party card, those lil happy hatted piggies look like the life of a party and I’d definitely want them there. Fabulous twofer.

    Reply
  6. Conil

    You must be psychic…you chose my most favorite animal in the world for your “pet” Twofer. Pigs are so smart and I just love the way they wallow with delight. Both cards are awesome…loving the stamp set you chose and the way you altered cochon to fit the event. Completely adorable and imaginative. Kudos!

    Reply
  7. lollthompson

    Oh my gosh Anita! These ARE THE CUTEST CARDS EVER!! 🙂 Seriously, I laughed out loud … especially when the hugs pig couldn’t find a t-shirt that he liked … a tattoo instead! 🙂 How happy is that pig?? And it makes everyone around him happy. xx

    Reply
  8. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    Those piggies are just fantastic!!!! For sure put a smile on my face! I won’t wait until the last minute to play along, I promise!!!!

    Reply
  9. BarbGhig

    Oh my goodness, Anita…you have totally made my day with this post!!! Your ‘Darnell-esque’ explanation had me falling off my chair laughing and your fun little Monsieur Cochon has completely captured my heart! I love how you created 2 fabulous designs with this adorable stamp, and I can’t wait to play along! Thanks so much for your inspiration 🙂

    Reply
  10. Christine Smith

    Ooh I love these super fun piggy cards! Each one is just fabulous. (Now is not the time I should mention my Grandma used to often cook pigs trotters for dinner!) shhhhhh! xxx

    Reply
  11. Bev

    Here I am, last to the party… Just had to stop by this morning and let you know your little porkers are amazing! “Pig Hugs,” indeed. That just cracked me up. What a great card, and perfect for someone who needs a hug and a good chuckle! I will say that I love your piggie party card, too! I can almost hear them snorting ‘surprise!!’ as they jump out from their hiding place. Such perfect pet cards, Anita. Just love them!! Missing you!! Sending ‘pig’ hugs!! hahaha

    Reply
  12. susannev2014

    Oh my, are these cards fun and adorable or what? Your cards surely put a big grin on my face! The little piggy spreading it’s arms out for a big hug is so sweet and his friends jumping out from behind the wall make me laugh! What a clever idea!

    Reply
  13. Jane

    Love the addition of those googly eyes to the pig. Thanks for playing along with the favourite technique challenge at AAA Cards.

    Reply
  14. Mac Mable

    Loving that rebel pig on your first card and how you trimmed him up. Both cards are such fun and what wonderful inspiration…..see the pet doesn’t have to be conventional x

    Reply
  15. Rosemary D

    you are such a great ambassador for the two-fer challenge, anita, and your cards show why… they are absolutely fabulous and quite hilarious, too!!

    Reply
  16. hobbitnoll

    Oh I adore!! These little pigs are just the happiest!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE these cards. You rocked this!!

    Reply
  17. macimbalo

    So adorable! So happy you could share this with us at Happy Little Stampers Anything Goes w/ Dies Challenge and good luck!

    Reply
  18. Gerrina

    A really silly pig…and both times stamped and coloured so cute! (Glad that the pig of my friend doesn’t reemble this one 🙂 ) Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply
  19. cmayne

    I literally squealed with delight in seeing your cutie-patootie pig hugs and pigs party cards, Anita! So incredibly creative (love the ‘pig’ tattoo!), charming and all-around smile-making! I’m sure you enjoy the occasional visit at the neighbours to see their piggy-pets! Trotter terrific!
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  20. Maria A Rodriguez

    Ohh!! I’m in Piggy Heaven!!! This cards are just awesome Anita, I want to give this piggy a big HUG, what a sweet heart he is. The twofer card is amazing too, those smiling faces peeking out are just making me smile too.
    Thank you so much for sharing.
    Hugs,
    Maria.
    PS. I went to the link you provided for the piggy image but couldn’t find the stamp set, can you please check the name or the link? I would love to own this stamps.

    Reply
  21. Verna Angerhofer

    These cards are so fun and that pig is awesome. I think this was a fantastic way to use the image too. I especially love the party pigs birthday card. They are so fun peeking out from the side.

    Reply
  22. Bobby

    Your cards are hilarious, Anita, and at first I thought I was reading Darnell’s blog when you talked about trotters and the T-shirt.

    Reply
  23. Izzy Scrap

    Comme ils sont mignons tous ses petits cochons ! J’adore leur tête rigolote et leur joie de vivre. Comme toujours tes mises en page sont superbes. Je ne pensais pas que je dirais ça un jour, mais je veux bien des gros câlins de cet adorable petit cochon tout rose ! Quant aux trois petits cochons (comme dans l’histoi !), ils sont si drôles avec leur chapeau de fête ! Très astucieux de les faire apparaître à moitié dans la colonne de droite, ça permet de garder un design très CAS ! On va avoir du mal à faire d’aussi belles créations ! Bises

    Reply
  24. Macarena

    Absolutely adorable! Love them both and all the piggies you incorporated. They are so lovely and happy 🙂 Thank you for joining Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

    Reply
  25. Sharron Gregory

    Love your shiny pink pig–so cute! And your trio look as if they are all ready to party. We just recently had piglets born at our Zoo and besides being just too adorable, they are Old Spot pigs so they are spotted! Imagine a pink piglet with black spots!

    Reply
  26. TK

    Your pigs are definitely sending out their big hugs! I love both cards, but am really drawn to your peeking pigs (haha)!

    Reply
  27. Pia

    This piggie will go straight on my wishlist, I love how you used it to make to equallly great CAS designs, cheerful and fun! Thanks for having me as a guest designer this month.

    Reply
  28. jmhave44

    This is just a splendid pet 2fer, and I got a big laugh with Mr. Pig(s). Love the clever dressing of his pink self, and I think his choice of costume worked just fine. He looks brilliant with that bold stripey Hug. Tripling the fun on the border of the birthday card, was such a delightful idea and whomever opens this card is going to smile very big at this cute little porker. Well done on Darnell’s Pet 2fer! TFS & Hugs

    Reply
  29. Claire A

    These are so fun Anita – so clever how you’ve placed the pigs and have them peeping out from behind the card stock on the second one. The first one looks fabulous with his shiny coat and googly eyes!

    Reply
  30. Nonni

    These both make me smile so much… I think these I’ve completely missed even, haven’t seen them before… Where have I been all spring?!? Love the fun design of the birthday card -those “peeling pigs” look so delightfully happy!!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.