Twofer Card Challenge #26 – Rain/Umbrella

Hello … bonjour!  It’s the 10th of the month … and that means we have a fun and fabulous new challenge for you at Twofer!  This month we’re inviting you to join us with your takes on …

I went with rain … though there is an umbrella on one of my cards …My common image is a stencil from MFT (Mini Staggered Raindrops), a sweet gift from Barb G … thanks, my friend!  It’s used conventionally with these cute critters on the I’m Here For You card and unconventionally on the vibrant, graphic Hugs card.    Here’s a closer look at each one …

My design here is based on a central panel with a wide border all around it.  I coloured the die cut critters and brolly (Lawn Fawn, from my Lake House stash) with coloured pencils and set them aside.  Their background was created using hand cut masks and blended Distress Inks … and was finished with the stencilled raindrops.  The critters were adhered into place … with both of them holding tightly onto that brolly.  You’ll notice that this is no ordinary umbrella … it’s one that when opened, shines bright, warm sunshine on those under it.  So not only are these cuties being sheltered from the rain … they’re also basking in the gentle, comforting glow around them.  The sentiment from Simon provided just the words I was looking for.  I trimmed the finished panel, matted it onto grey card and adhered it to a top folding base card.

My unconventional design uses a panel that fills the central third of my card …

I masked a single line of raindrops on the stencil and went to work with a host of Distress Ink colours, sponging one line at a time and shifting the stencil over to fill in the gaps between the rain drops that you see on my first card.  As each line was completed, the stencil was cleaned off, moved down a quarter of an inch … and I started again with the next colour.  When the panel was finished, it was trimmed and popped up on craft foam over some washi edging, on a side folding landscape card.  The black sentiment (Papertrey … also a gift from Barb G 🙂 ) was triple stacked onto white and adhered over the rainbow panel.

How would you like to join us with some rain/umbrella cards of your own … we’d love to see you (and them) in our gallery!  Whether you choose rain or umbrella or both of them for your two distinctly different cards, please remember to use the same common image(s) for each of your designs.  All the details about how to play along, including rules and FAQs are over at the Twofer blog … together with heaps of delicious and fun inspiration from the DT.  We’re joined this month by two talented Guest Designers … TK from Time 4 Kards and Rosi from Let’s Take Time … welcome ladies!  If you haven’t met these talented card artists yet, do go over and enjoy a wander through their blogs … you’ll have a splendid time finding inspiration in bucket loads!  Even if you are familiar with their work, why not pop along anyway … you can always say hello while you’re there!

My sunny critters are joining in at …

Happy Little Stampers Dies – Anything Goes

Inkspirational – Spring … that spring shower!

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Spring Mood Board … also spring shower!

The Cat’s Pajamas – Share Hope

Watercooler Wednesday – All About Occasions

… and my rainbow hugs are heading to …

Addicted To Stamps And More – Clean And Simple

Ink to Paper Project Reach Out – Sending Hugs And Rainbow Cheer

Perfectly CAS – Die Cuts

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Add Texture … that yummy pierced, stacked die cut

Watercooler Wednesday – All About Occasions

I’m hoping and praying that you’re all continuing to stay safe and well out there … keep crafting and keep positive.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!   Anita 🙂

          

             

           

    

38 thoughts on “Twofer Card Challenge #26 – Rain/Umbrella

  1. catcraig

    Anita, your rain drops in both rainbow form and the regular are fabulous. I am a fan of rain and looking at both cards makes me happy. Such a great take on our prompt this month.

    Reply
  2. Michele F

    Such a brilliant idea, Anita! LOve to see your attitude toward life mirrored under that sweet little umbrella! Two darling cards, and raindrops!
    =]

    Reply
  3. Jeanne

    Excellent use of those raindrops! I love the rainbow one! so unique. The umbrella one is so bright and fun. Thanks ever so much for sharing. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Marcia Hill

    Two FABULOUS cards Anita and I definitely want a “brolly” like yours that comes with the sunshine pretty please?!! Your 1st card is absolutely ADORABLE with the two little critters all snuggled together and enjoying the warmth of the sunshine amidst all the raindrops! And your graphic card??? You must have the patience of a saint to have stenciled all those rainbow colors so perfectly Anita! Love the bold black HUGS sentiment too…totally works against the rainbow! Lovely, lovely cards my friend! Take care and Easter Blessings being sent your way!! :0)

    Reply
  5. Bobby Hagen

    Those little critters are so cute sharing the magic umbrella and the sentiment, Anita. The colored band was such a creative way to use that rainbow stencil. I’m putting my thinking cap on.

    Reply
  6. Darnell Jean Knauss

    These are both genius makes, Anita! What a fun and fabulous idea to use the rain stencil as your common brief element! I just love how you moved and colored the panel under your HUGS and I can’t stop staring at the “sunshine umbrella” on your second design! That’s just beyond inventive and sensational! Happy Good Friday and Easter to you!! ILYAMYEDMA!! Hugs, Darnell xxoo

    Reply
  7. Rosi

    Deux super belles cartes!! C’est génial la façon dont tu as utilisé le pochoir avec les gouttes d’eau pour en faire la partie centrale de ta deuxième carte! J’adore!!
    Joyeux weekend de Pâques, Rosi

    Reply
  8. conil

    Well now, these are such cheery cards. Just what the doctor ordered for some. Love those sweet, beautifully colored criiters and the background behind my personally favorite “hugs” die. Brilliant of you to use this dot stencil both of them. Genius at work.

    Reply
  9. BarbGhig

    Oh my gosh, what a lovely surprise! I’m so glad to see that you are enjoying your raindrops stencil, Anita! Your little critters are adorable and I love the contrast of the rich black die-cut sentiment with your rainbow of colors on the raindrops…Thanks so much for inspiring us to play along ~ Hugs, Barb xx

    Reply
  10. Lisa Elton

    Oh my cuteness!! What a brilliant way to use the stamps. Your little ones huddled under their sunny yellow umbrella are darling!

    Reply
  11. Shauna

    Two more beautiful cards! Your critters are so cute on the first card and I love the design with the umbrella shadow. The second is so colorful and I love the large sentiment! So great having you link up at Inkspirational!
    – Shauna

    Reply
  12. Rosemary D

    You always create the most clever and unique designs for two-fer, Anita! I love the creative way you used the stencil!

    Reply
  13. sandie

    You are always so good with these when every month my mind just goes blank! I just adore the card with the hugs sentiment-looks so dramatic and fab colours. Super cards x

    Reply
  14. Helen

    A great design – love the bold die cut word.

    Thanks for joining us at the Perfectly CAS Challenge.

    Helen x

    Reply
  15. Heidi Weaver

    Two terrific cards, Anita! I love those sweet die-cut critters and the gorgeous bright colours under the umbrella. Even with the dullness of the rain, being together brings sunshine into one’s life! Love it! Thanks so much for sharing with us for our Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week.

    Reply
  16. tinstar05

    Great pair of cards Anita. I especially love the umbrella card and the effect with the sunlight shining from under it. Thanks for joining us at the Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week. Tristan DT.

    Reply
  17. momentsofcrafting

    Great creative cards, Anita! I love the effect you achieved using your stencil for the band on your second card! I imagine it took some patience!! Both so sweet, especially the magic umbrella! Just what we all need at the moment!! Thanks so much for joining us at Watercooler Wednesday Challenge this week. Happy Easter! Stay safe!

    Reply
  18. lollthompson

    Two adorable rain cards Anita! I LOVE the sweet critters sitting under the bright yellow umbrella. And your rainbow of raindrops is so pretty and fun! Great work! xx

    Reply
  19. Linda W. (ScrappinBari)

    Wow Anita – great Twofer!! Just love what you did with the raindrops stencil on both cards! Such a great background for your sentiment on card one and as falling rain on your sweet critter pair on card two!!

    Reply
  20. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    That is so creative! Although I am thinking drops of sweat rather than rain, given how many drops you put on that Hugs card….admirable!!!

    Reply
  21. Mac Mable

    What patience you had with the Fabulous and colourful Hugs card Anita and so worth it…Adorable first card, which is super sweet and such a creative card and design x.

    Reply
  22. noraln44

    What darling, darling cards!! I LOVE the first one with the little animals. The way you shined the “light” down is too cute. The second one with the fun hugs is fabulous as well. GREAT take on the challenges!

    Reply
  23. Carol L

    I am blown away with your creativity in these cards! I love the way you used the raindrops to make a background border, but the sunshine from inside the umbrella is just brilliant and so very cute! A wonderful and inspiring Twofer, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  24. Kara

    I don’t think I could be any later in commenting on this fun duo! Your raindrops make a fantastic bright background for the bold “hugs”! Creating one line at a time demonstrates your patience! Those two look so cozy under their umbrella of sunshine – the vibrant yellow just glows next to the grey! I hope you are doing well and not working too hard! Miss you!

    Reply
  25. Claire A

    You always find such unique ways to use the same item – it must have taken you ages to do the second card, I’m not sure I’d have had the patience! I love how you’ve created the soft glow around the critters. I will have to try that – I have a PTI umbrella set but it’s very rarely used!

    Reply
  26. Gerrina

    At the moment the days are so strange and I have been commenting not that much. With my bloground today I stopped while thinking I hadn’t see a post from you…so went here again and found these beauties! Love how the little critters are sitting in the sun under the umbrella! And so clever to use the rain to make the colourstripes more intersting on your 2nd card! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply
  27. Skye

    Two lovely cards and a very creative take. I like the two little animals safe under their umbrella and the pretty tainbow

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.