Time Out DT #40 Mid Challenge Reminder, Retrosketches #182, SSS Monday 21/9, SSS Wednesday 23/9

Hello!  Our ‘CASE … With Your Own Twist’ challenge over at Time Out is only half way through … so if you haven’t played along already, there’s still plenty of time … and why would you not want to CASE our designer … she’s the wonderful, uber talented and lovely Tracey McNeely of In My Creative Opinion!  Tracey has given us a soft, dreamy, delicate card to CASE … it’s a little further down … this week, I rather strayed from the original with mine …

Time Out DT 40R, Little Tangles 60, Retrosketches 182Time Out… here’s Tracey’s beautiful card …

I die cut a circle of vellum (MFT Circle Stax) and gold heat embossed the Neat & Tangled image onto it, doing a little masking and restamping to get the wreath shape (it comes with ‘laurel’ sprigs each side).  A white card panel was sponged with Hero Arts Mint Julep and the vellum circle was adhered over it, just off the edge of the card, and attached only under the little flowers so it ‘floats’ a little.   A slender strip of gold foil paper was attached to the edge of the card base and the panel was popped up onto the base on fun foam.  The additional sentiment (from WPlus9) was gold embossed onto white, trimmed and adhered flat, tucked just under the vellum and overlapping the gold strip.  I scattered a few gold sequins and was done!

How will you be inspired by Tracey‘s card … there are soft colours, the sponged background, delicate vellum, crisp heat embossing … we’d love to see where your creative imagination takes you!  There’s tons of inspiration over on the Time Out blog if you need a little kick start … from our talented Guest Designer Stempelfrida and from our fabulous DT … hope to see you in the gallery!

In addition to being inspired by Tracey‘s card, I was also inspired by …

Retrosketches – Sketch Below … my first time playing along … loved that off the page sketch, which also just happened to have been inspired by Tracey!

SSS Monday – Use a Stamp

SSS Wednesday – No Designer Paper

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

      Simon Monday Challenge Blog          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

29 thoughts on “Time Out DT #40 Mid Challenge Reminder, Retrosketches #182, SSS Monday 21/9, SSS Wednesday 23/9

  1. Claire

    I always like it when people stray from the original when they are casing Anita – to me that’s the point of a CASE challenge! There’s that beautiful blending again and how fantastic does that gold look? So elegant. I think this fits with Casology this week too!

    Reply
  2. born57

    Oh this one is dreamy too! Love your second take on Tracey’s card,that soft background color Is gorgeous with the gold embossing Anita!

    Reply
  3. Michele Ferguson

    Lovely second helpings of Tracey’s card, Anita … may I ask which gold embossing powder you are using these days? It seems so perfect … mine may be going into the bin, it just doesn’t seem to be doing what I love anymore – and I LOve the way your looks – love the whole gorgeous thing!
    =] M

    Reply
  4. BarbGhig

    Beautiful take on Tracey’s card, Anita! I love the softness of the Mint Julep behind your vellum circle, and your gold embossing is stunning! Great idea to off set your focal point, too! Gorgeous card, as always!

    Reply
  5. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    HI Anita – thanks you so much for your wonderful get well card – such a beauty! I loved that splattered water colored background and the under laid die-cut sentiment! It warmed my heart to get a card from you. I still have trouble seeing with my left eye (it also feels like a raw egg….) – in about 6 month I will know to which extent my vision will be lastingly impaired (hoping for none….). But I am glad its not worse. I had an excellent ophthalmologist taking care of me – so grateful for that. Now to your beautiful card – mint and gold – a winning combination! So beautiful! I feel a bit rusty when it comes to card making, but i’ll get back into it, I am sure!

    Reply
  6. Bev

    I bet Tracey will love this take on her card, I know I do. But then, it seems that every card you make I fall in love with. True story!! That mint and gold together is so rich, and the sentiment matches the colors perfectly. It also matches my feelings for you! Simply spectacular card. Miss you and sending you hugs and many bisous. xoxo

    Reply
  7. kimheggins

    Simply stunning Miss Anita…just love the elegant look you created. And what a wonderful and sweet sentiment, just love it.

    Reply
  8. Geri G

    Gloriously golden and delightfully shimmery! You’ve created a gorgeous wreath with your ‘little bit of stamping and masking’. I love the vibrant aqua green paired with the gold – so elegant. Pretty bits of bling and fabulous ‘slender strip’ of gold paper!

    Reply
  9. Gerrina

    That green and gold look great together; not a combi I would think of quickly bt it looks perfect ! That big bold sentiment looks great ib the vellum; like this it stands out so beatiful; clever take on the CASE-card! Enjoy the weekend!

    Reply
  10. maria f.

    Hello lovely lady. Getting back into the swing of things here and one of the first cards to catch my eye is your mint, gold and white beauty. Delicious. Great idea to include that secondary sentiment.

    Reply
  11. Andrea Ockey Parr

    This is really an incredible card! I adore the metallic touches you added and am impressed with your embossing skills! I seem to always end up with stray embossing powder that leaves unwanted smudges, but you really got yours so crisp and clean! I also like how you used vellum to make it even softer and more elegant. This is stunning and I am so glad you shared it with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!

    Reply
  12. Jill V

    Another amazing card Anita! The combination of mint and gold is absolutely brilliant and I love how the inking shows off the subtle texture of the card base! So classy and elegant! Jill

    Reply
  13. jmhave44

    The gold embossing over that misty blue green is so very beautiful. And I like the vellum overlay the way you’ve placed in the white base, with the same color shading radiating out from the vellum circle. What a lovely design, and so very effective with the gold & misty colors. It’s stunning. TFS & Have a great week. Hugs

    Reply
  14. Jingle

    This is very pretty! I love the gold on the Vellum! Thank you so much for playing along with the No Patterned Paper Challenge on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge blog!

    Reply
  15. cmayne

    My dear Anita – a 1001 apologies for my tardiness in commenting…work, travel, disorganized, feeling a bit overwhelmed (work-related…grrr…), are all to blame! On the plus side, being late means an Anita-exclusive gallery stroll…so here I go! What a gorgeous staring point your vellum, gold and mint julep card is! Such sophistication…
    Hugs~c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.