CASology #92 (Garden), Less is More #169 (Sketch), SSS Monday 21/4 (Big Stamp)

Thanks for coming back … here’s my second card of the day …

CASology 92, LIM 169, SSSM 21-4At the Papertrey Blog Hop this week, there was a wonderful photo full of embroidered images … one in particular of poppies on a circular black background that was simply delicious.  I didn’t get to play along because ‘stuff’ got in the way … so, when Chrissie’s sketch (below) at Less is More popped up in my Feedly yesterday, I knew where I was going to look for inspiration!  I’m also playing along at CASology again, where the Cue Card is Garden, and linking up to Simon Says Stamp Monday‘s Big Stamp challenge.

So here was the issue … how to keep the colours of the flowers from disappearing into black cardstock.  Answer … after some brain strain … don’t use black cardstock, use emboss/resist.  So, with a negative circle mask over a white card panel, I stamped the leaves, overstamped them in Versamark (what a fab tool a Stampamajig is!) and clear embossed them … then did the same thing with the flower heads/centres.  With the mask still in place, black ink was sponged over the top of the embossing (an eek moment!) … happily, it resisted the black and any excess ink on the flowers just came off with a damp paper towel (phew!).  To add some depth to the ’embroidery’, I  covered the whole circle with Versamark and clear embossed it.  Even when the Avery Elle sentiment was stamped, the card panel looked too stark left completely white (even for me!), so I used an Annabelle Stamps background with the lightest grey I have to add just a touch of interest, and used foam dots to pop the panel up on the card base.

I’m so pleased to welcome another couple of new friends and followers … Bobby from Bits and Pieces, and Ileana from Ileana Plesan.  Most (if not all) of you will already know Bobby and her fabulous creations … if not, go and check out her blog, you’ll be inspired!  Ileana is an established artist (paint and ceramics) and has just launched herself into the wonderful world of card making … have a wander over and explore!  You’re very welcome, ladies … and thank you 🙂

It’s getting on time for dinner here, so whilst there’s more to come, I’m going to stop for a bit to take on sustanence!  I’ll return, fully replenished, in a while!  Thanks for coming by again … as ever, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

                    Simon Monday Challenge Blog

30 thoughts on “CASology #92 (Garden), Less is More #169 (Sketch), SSS Monday 21/4 (Big Stamp)

  1. Brenda

    Wow, those poppies really POP on that black background Anita!! I so love them-not sure how you got it to do what you wanted it to do, but it works and it is beautiful. I love the gray lines on the white part, really gives texture and interest. And I just love that font on your sentiment. You do such beautiful cards!! Hugs

    Reply
  2. Bobby

    Thanks for the shout out, Anita. It’s a pleasure to follow you and be inspired by your lovely creations. I can imagine the tenseness as you put black ink to paper. I’m so glad it worked out, not only for you but so I (and others) can do it, too. I love that background you created. It does add “just enough” extra to the card.

    Reply
  3. wienerhoneymooners

    Such a great showcase to this set! And you know I LOVE black in a card, just sets things off and brightens up other elements or images so nicely!! Thanks for joining your friends at CASology!

    Reply
  4. serendipitydragonfly

    This is gorgeous Anita. Love the emboss resist, it’s so striking………not seen it done with black before. I can imagine the plain white against the central area may have looked a bit stark but you’ve dealt with it perfectly. Fabulous 🙂

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  5. LOLI

    Hola Anita!!! i’m glad to see you, thank you for your kind comment:D
    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOh wonderful, simply stunning, i like the contrast between the poppies and the black background, GREAT technique Anita!.
    A warm hug from Palma

    Reply
  6. kimheggins

    Gorgeous garden card…I love that stamp and used the same one of my garden card too, but those beautiful colors with that black background is so striking. Fabulous card.

    Reply
  7. danscraftylife

    Great card, interesting technique on your embossed resist too. Very elegant. Thanks for joining us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Reply
  8. Judy1223

    Ah HA! I was wondering how you colored those flowers so well on black card stock! That is brilliant, Anita, and you do it all so well, you make it look easy! So glad you played along again at CASology!

    Reply
  9. Meghan

    Anita you are much braver than I. This is just a fabulous card. That black background makes those flowers POP! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

    Reply
  10. Alrik

    Wow! This is awesome! Love the coloring and the beautiful details.
    What a wonderful project, all of the details are stunning!It’s very inspiring.

    Reply
  11. Petra

    AH, a beauty, Anita!!! And it all worked out so well and beautifully in the end – so cleverly done!!! Your beautiful poppies really pop against the black bg. I love the bg stamp you’ve used – adds the perfect finishing touch!! Beautiful!!

    Reply
  12. Lindsey L

    This is fabulous!!! I immediately knew the picture that inspired you when I saw your card…it is a perfect translation. And your emboss/resist idea with the black is downright brilliant. Thanks for sharing your creative genius!

    Reply
  13. Shona Chambers

    Wow, what an amazing technique! The black in the circle looks so dark I really thought you had stamped on black cardstock. And I can just imagine how nervous you were sponging over your flowers, thank goodness it worked! I love the background stamping too, its very subtle but effective. You know I love a good area of white but your right, sometimes it just doesn’t work. Love it!

    Reply
  14. cmayne

    An amazing technique with such classy results! Initially, I wondered how you managed colour on black, and then..the secret revealed..WOW!!! Beautiful flowers, indeed! And yes, I agree – the Stampamajig thingy is becoming more a valued item in my ‘tool kit’, too! Going back for another look, then off to see what’s next!! Hugs~c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

