Twofer Card Challenge #8 – Geometric

Hello … bonjour!  Welcome to our latest Twofer Card Challenge!  This month, we have a cool, stylish and fun prompt … it’s …

Here’s where I went with it …

My common stamp here is the small triangle from Papertrey‘s Sketched Shapes … I love the interest that the scribbly pattern adds … and triangles are so versatile!  How about a closer look at each card?

         

Here I created a random pattern of overlapping triangles on my one layer card, using four different blue hues, pointing down and up towards the oversized Simon Says Stamp greeting, which was nestled into them.  The birthday sentiment and the random dots on the triangles (Simon Says Stamp Lots of Dots) were silver heat embossed … adds a bit of shine without being too much for a masculine card.

My Twofer …

Doesn’t that single triangle stamp make a cute cluster of Christmas trees?  The bottom layer on each tree is the same triangle as on my first card.  Thanks to a negative mask that I hand cut in the shape of the tree, I could stamp the layers (which diminish in size as the trees get taller) and the trunks … with the same triangle stamp.  I used the positive part of the mask to protect the two front trees while the background one was stamped through the mask.  The sentiment is from WPlus9, heat embossed in gold and the trees are dressed in gold foil stars and Santa red bling. There’s a smidge of shading under the trees, though it’s hard to see here.  The finished panel was adhered to a card base that had been trimmed top and bottom with gold washi tape.

Voilà … my two distinctly different designs … for two distinctly different occasions … using the same stamp!

How will your imagination use our ‘Geometric’ prompt this month?  Will you go conventional or unconventional … or both, as I did?  We’d love to see what you create in our gallery.   All the details you need to play along are over at the Twofer blog … along with plenty of delicious ideas from the DT to get those artistic juices flowing.   We’re delighted to have two Guest Designers with us this time round … welcome to Cheryl from Paper Panacea and Brenda from Inkspired to Stamp, who also have some wonderful inspiration for you.  Do pop over and see both Cheryl and Brenda … there’s so much to see and enjoy over on their blogs … and they’ll be delighted you called!

My graphic masculine card is heading to …

Addicted to CAS – Masculine

Addicted to Stamps & More – Clean And Simple

CAS-ual Fridays – Stamp A Pattern

Seize The Birthday – No Water Option

Watercoolor Wednesday – All About Occasions

… and my Christmas tree cluster is cavorting over with …

CAS Christmas – Tree

Happy Little Stampers Christmas – No Sequins Option

SSS Monday – Add Some Tape

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

               

            

          

45 thoughts on “Twofer Card Challenge #8 – Geometric

  1. Judith

    Wonderful cards Anita…and do you know I have pretty much the same stamps in my stash. Now why am I not surprised xx

    Reply
  2. Jeanne

    Terrific use of the triangles, Anita! I really like the graphic look on the first card. And you have got to make trees with a triangle…the second card is very festive. Wonderful work!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Conil

    You never cease to amaze me with your flawless eye for clean design. Once again, you picked just the right products to make my eyes tingle with excitement and my brain to start pumping ideas. Both cards are just perfect…no other word for it.

    Reply
  4. Brenda in IN

    Two beautiful designs with triangles. The shades of blue pointing to the birthday sentiment is so clever. I love the trees and the touches of gold make it so elegant.

    Reply
  5. Mac Mable

    How creative to get these two unique and such different cards from the one stamp. Love the geometric triangles going down the card on your first card and then reversing to go upwards. Gorgeous colours too. Fun idea on your Christmas card and love how you used a home made stencil and negative masking to achieve those fabulous Christmas trees x. Fabulous inspiration….Thank you x.

    Reply
  6. bonklassgmailcom

    What beautiful uses of triangles, Anita! I love how the sentiment tucks in around the first card that is so perfectly masculine. And your Christmas trees are so fun! Love that bold sentiment and the strips of gold on the edges! The whole card speaks Joy to me! Thanks so much for sharing this with us at CAS Christmas!

    Reply
  7. catcraig

    Anita – fabulous take on the challenge. So inspiring. Your triangle shapes just look so meant to be used as you did in both your trees and your masculine card. Loving both these cards.

    Reply
  8. susannev2014

    Forgot about this set, and it’s so perfect for this challenge! Absolutely love the birthday card (those silver dots are the perfect embellishment) and your Christmas trees came out fantastic with your negative mask! You are just so very brilliant, my friend!
    Hope you have an enjoyable weekend,
    Susanne

    Reply
  9. lollthompson

    Your triangle cards are awesome Anita! LOVE the first one with the shades of blue triangles cascading down to the sentiment (and up to the sentiment from the bottom). Very creative and fun design. Your triangle Christmas trees are adorable. I do love your forest of trees! Thanks for sharing with us at CAS Christmas! xx

    Reply
  10. Brenda Lawrence

    You are so clever Anita! I love both of your twofers, the birthday one is so clever and pretty-loving those blues! The trees were equally clever-and boy don’t these triangles make beautiful trees?!! Love the cluster of them and the different greens you used. Well done! I am going to try and put my thinking cap on and see what geometric shapes I have in my stash. Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  11. scrapperatheart

    Great job with the word for the Twofer this month! Your cards are fabulous! Hope life is being good to you! I currently have too much going on and I feel like a gerbil on his exercise wheel! HUGS! So happy you joined us at Seize the Birthday!!

    Reply
  12. Stephanie Lanzalotto

    What clever use of those triangle images, Anita. You have really nailed th Two-fer challenge with these wonderful designs. I love your choice of colors as well. Thanks so much for playing with us at Happy Little Stampers August Christmas Challenge. Hugs, Stephanie.

    Reply
  13. BarbGhig

    You did an amazing job with this stamp, Anita! I love the pattern on the triangles and how you created 2 distinctly different cards with them! I’m so impressed with how you were able to use your cards for so many challenges, too! Thanks so much for playing along at Addicted to CAS…your masculine card is perfect for the challenge!

    Reply
  14. Rosemary D

    once, again, you have provided everyone taking up the two-fers challenge with outstanding cards that are creative and showcase the challenge to perfection! well played my friend!

    Reply
  15. macimbalo

    Very cool cards Anita! I love the bday card you shared with us at ATSM – it’s stunning. Both of them are! Thanks for linking up this week!

    Reply
  16. momentsofcrafting

    Great cards, as always, Anita! I love the cascading triangles with the delicate colours on your second card. Very clever twofer cards! Thanks so much for joining us this week at Watercooler Wednesday!

    Reply
  17. papercraftboutique

    Fantastic twofer cards using the triangles, Anita! I love the well thought-out design of the first card – directions of the triangles, the nestled sentiment, and the layout of the shades of blue. And you did a great job with masking for the Christmas tree card! The color scheme is so festive with the green trees, the red bling, and the gold sentiment/borders/stars! Thanks so much for sharing with us at CAS Christmas! Hideko xx

    Reply
  18. Marisela Delgado

    Okay, you can send me any one of those for Christmas. ha-ha-ha They are tres belle! So lovely, Anita, as always.

    Reply
  19. Marcia K Designs

    Such fun and creative cards! It’s so exciting to see the same stamp used in such different ways. Thanks for playing along at the CAS-ual Fridays Challenge.

    Reply
  20. CAROL STEEDMAN

    What a fabulous pair of cards Anita! You have such a good eye for design and I love the crisp and clean look to both of these.
    Thanks for sharing with us at ATSM and I hope you will join with us again soon.

    Reply
  21. Darnell Jean Knauss

    These are just divine, Anita! Before I saw your card, I made my reminder cards for the 17th and used the exact same triangle from that set! Great minds! My cards, however, as you will see both on my blog and personally, don’t hold a candle to these incredibly clever designs! I’m pinning that manly design. The way you did the triangles was inspired enough, but the addition of the silver circle on each one just puts the icing on the top! Genius! Plus, I love the blue shading! And your Christmas tree is even MORE genius!!! “Ah,” as Poirot would say, “you were really using those leedle gray cells!” and it’s obvious that you had fun doing these, which makes me happy! Well done, too, playing them in the challenges as these are both winners! LYAMYMA! Have a great week!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  22. Kara Lynne

    Month after month you bring it to the Twofer table! Your creativity is so fun to watch! I love those triangles in hues of blue, and then so perfect as Christmas trees! Both cards are perfectly balanced and gorgeous!

    Reply
  23. Kathryn Ricks

    Thanks for joining us at Watercooler Wednesday Challenges! Your different uses of triangles made wonderful cards!

    Reply
  24. Laurie

    Love these cards, Anita!!! Triangles are literally my favourite shape! Thank you so much for joining us at CAS-ual Fridays!!

    Reply
  25. Claire A

    I’ve had my eye on that SSS ‘you’ for ages but it always seems to be sold out! Such an innovative way to use those triangles Anita…would never have thought to make a Christmas tree!

    Reply
  26. Lura

    Your Twofers are always so wildly diversified and on target – an ability I admire greatly. These are fantastic as always…

    Reply
  27. susanbri

    Love the way you used the triangles to make the Christmas trees – and love the three different shades of green. Thanks so much for joining us at CAS Christmas!

    p.s. Great cards for the Twofer challenge too!

    Reply
  28. Sandie

    Yah, getting to browse the internet and stay out of the 35 degree heat until it cools down! Your creativity never fails to impress! I love the way you used these stamps. So very clever and wonderfully CAS!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.